Cassandra & Emily

  • Canada & États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

  • Description

    Nature motivates and energises us, especially the ocean. We feel most purposeful in rural areas, living sustainably and by my means. We do not need much to survive and thrive, to us less is more. We love to be immerse myself in local cultures and mutually benefit from living in the local community, we want to live and learn from loving, caring people whilst simultaneously enhance the environment and bring our knowledge in marine biology (Emily) and conservation (both of us).
    We are both looking to do more surfing, practice yoga, and indulge in the BIPOC traditional and experimental methods of farming, permaculture, aquaponics and agroforestry. We love to learn, share and engage with interesting people!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Livres

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Travail associatif

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Enseignement

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Éco-projets
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    (Emily) I have a first honours BSc in marine biology, I have worked with many environmental non-profits and NGOs in various countries worldwide. I am a scuba and free dive instructor, I love to teach and create ocean advocates. From the age of 16, I worked on a public farm, mucking out as well as managing educational events. I have TEFL Level 5 160 hr teaching qualification, I have voluntarily taught children in schools and youth groups in the Philippines and Indonesia. I co-founded non-profit organisations, Trash Hero Pemuteran and Friends of Pemuteran, managing clean-up and restoration events, in a village in North Bali where I lived and worked as a dive resort manager and scuba instructor for 1.5 years.

    I completed my STCW in Gibraltar, Nov 2020. There, I lived on boats for over a month, and am very keen to jump aboard a boat to gain more sailing and boat maintenance experience.

    Currently I am living in Oahu, managing online activities for a dive centre and teaching freediving. I am volunteering at Hawaii Pacific University's Centre for Marine Debris on their ghost net project. I am a member of Ocean Defenders Alliance, taking part in weekly underwater clean-ups.

    (Cassy) I am passionate about ocean and marine life since forever. When I was 19 years old, I flew all the way to Australia to start my career as a Dive Instructor. Since then, I have been travelling, living and working in various countries around the globe, spending most of the last 3 years in Asia. Whilst in Indonesia, I started to be involved in various ocean-related projects doing coral replantation and restoration, removing COT and alien sponges, leading underwater clean-ups and more. That is also where I co-founded Trash Hero Pemuteran and Friends of Pemuteran, 2 small non-profits organizations. They have allowed me to show and teach many people on the importance of protecting our planet and developing eco-friendly habits. By doing so, I learned a lot about social projects and social media management, I have acquired a great contact network in the marine industry and I have learned to adapt myself to people’s needs, expectations and knowledge.

    On an educational background, I have been studying business, more specifically online marketing and I am currently completing a degree in philanthropy.

    Whenever I go back home to Canada, I work in experimental marketing. I am currently working for Health Canada as a project coordinator for their prevention campaign

    Less is more. That’s definitely a cliché, but I love living in small villages and communities, going to the market and knowing everyone’s names, walking barefoot everywhere, enjoying nature and cooking great meals.

    My goal is to buy my own sailing in the next 3 years. I have been learning to sail a little back in Australia and I spent 10 days on a catamaran in France back in 2018 to learn more.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Indonesian: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    French

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    26 & 24

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback