Eliya

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Mexico
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I am an enthusiastic, passionate person from Oxfordshire, England who loves meeting new people and sharing experiences and life stories with them. I come from a big family and have moved around a lot. My parents are from the US and my entire extended family live there. However- I was born in Kenya and lived there and in Eritrea until I was 11. Then we moved to England and I have lived here ever since!

    This background has given me a love of meeting, working with and interacting with a whole variety of different people and cultures. I have also traveled independently. I took a year out before University and traveled to India, Thailand, Australia and New Zealand. In India I taught English to children rescued from child-labour which was an incredible and challenging experience. After I completed a degree in Psychology I traveled more in the US and Central America. I taught English to children aged 5-10 in a school in Cambodia as part of a TEFL internship. I have also done solo trips to Jordan, Iceland and Chile, amongst others!

    I'm trust-worthy, adaptable and easy-going :)

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d'équipe
    Sports d’hiver
    Yoga / bien-être
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Arts du spectacle
    Dessin et peinture

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Accueil / tourisme
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I have been working in academic administration and events organisation at the Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford for five years so I have extensive experience in admin procedures, and working with a vast variety of people from all over the globe.

    I have a lot of experience in customer service, as I worked in the (world famous) bookshop Blackwell's of Oxford; I was in charge of the Travel section (naturally)!

    I have done a lot of (amateur) acting, especially at University. I also have done a lot of behind the scenes things in theatre; my favourite project was co-producing an original student production that we took to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival! I currently volunteer usher at Arts at the Old Fire Station, which is a charity-run theatre that shares space with the homelessness charity Crisis.

    I am very chatty and friendly and get on with most people. I have experience in teaching English and in child care. I have done WWOOFing (in New Zealand) before, so I am familiar with the concept of Workaway (as they are fairly similar). In my WWOOFing time I did a lot of weeding/gardening work and looked after a whole host of different kinds of animals on a nature reserve! I have also been involved in charity work-on a Workaway placement in Northern California, I helped out at a non-profit organisation that sends supplies to areas that have recently been devastated by natural disasters. At home in England I volunteered at a mental health charity for several months.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    33

  • Nationalité

    British/American

  • Autres infos...

    I want to challenge myself and get out of my comfort zone again- it's been a while!

    I am always up for adventure and trying new things whether that is cooking a new dish, learning a new language or moving halfway across the world.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback