Barbara & David

Origine: France

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte duo

  • ...

    Destinations

    Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.03.2021 - 30.11.2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hi everyone! We are Barbara (20) and David (21), we are French and have been together for almost 4 years. We arrived in London in October 2020 and therefore have our pre-settled status. We both live in the same city in France: Angers. We are a dynamic, smiling, polite couple. I (B) practiced horseback riding for two years when I was 8-10 and then another two when I was 16-18. Unfortunately, it is an expensive practice so I could not continue also due to lack of time since I started working at 18 years old. I (D) played football from my 6 to 18 years old. I have a good level but I also had to stop when I started to work. We decided to stop studying after the baccalaureate because we didn't really know what we wanted to do, so we approached several sectors to different jobs. Now we know what we want, to live in an English country and the best way is already to be bilingual in English. So what's better than living the workaway experience? Meet new people, speak English, learn, discover, gain physical and human experience!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Animaux
    Langues
    Écriture
    Livres
    Films et télé
    Musique
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Culture
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Éco-projets
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Me (B) I went through several jobs including: sales in a supermarket, team member at McDonald's, babysitting, order picker but I think what will interest you the most is my experience in an animal park.
    I first did an internship at Natural'Parc in France for 1 month in September, then they hired me from February to August for the 2020 season but unfortunately because of the covid I was only able to stay until June. It has been the best 4 months of my life! I took care of a lot of animals, I would put the maximum number of pictures of them but there were camels, ostriches, cows, horses, ponies, goats, sheep, ferrets, alpacas, llamas, emus, pigs, dwarf donkeys, parakeets, turtles, wallaby and wolfdogs! These are Saarloos and Czechoslovakian wolfdogs who have recovered from intensive breeding, they were 10 and are now only 8 due to problems with the pack. I had to work with Pierre a dog trainer because at the beginning it was impossible to enter the enclosure to feed them, I learned quickly and efficiently with him and after a few weeks they accepted me which was enough extraordinary, I learned to recognize them and understand their behavior. Pierre was satisfied with my work and my way of dealing with them. I even made contact with Zeus, I was able to feed him by hand and I have videos that prove it, I would be happy to share them. I learned a lot about how a pack works. Coming back to the park, we were just two animal handlers and a handyman. So I had to manage the park on my own because the boss made us alternate, when she was off duty I worked and vice versa. I also had to manage interns. The park is hilly so I am able to walk long mile and carry buckets of pellets while going up a hill and with the goats that won't let you pass! I'm not tall or muscular but it's all in the head and I was very good at my job. I really liked what I was doing.
    I would like to volunteer or work on a ranch, farm, or a family that has animals. I can :
    -give food to animals.
    -cleaned their enclosure.
    -Monitored the state of health..
    -I practiced first aid such as injections or given antibiotics.
    -ride / handle horses.
    -work no matter the weather.
    -drive a mini tractor
    -repair fences.
    I haven't done a lot of maintenance work but I have already repaired some fences, however I would be happy to learn if you wish.
    Even though I no longer ride, I had an intermediate level of riding. I learn quickly and it is my passion.

    Me (D) has just an experience with dogs, I worked for over a year in a factory in France, I am currently working in a French factory in London. I love animals, I am able to learn and happy to take care of your animals. I love to cook and would be happy to cook for you, I love sport I am a very active person!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    We really want to learn English and Spanish (depends on where we are and how many languages you talk) this is very important to us and if you want to learn more about French we would be happy to teach you back.

  • Âge

    21 & 21

  • Autres infos...

    Do not hesitate to ask us more questions if you wish!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No

Photos

Feedback