Elder Care assist, central Texas, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 48 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 16 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Betty and Al, a mature, active, retired couple living in the small, sleepy town of Wimberley in the heart of central Texas, 45 minutes from Austin. Wimberley has freshwater rivers, creeks, swimming holes, parks and wide open spaces plus arts and live music. Al is a retired professor, teacher, writer, avid reader and traveler. Betty is semi-retired speech pathologist, photographer, yoga teacher and traveler. We love to laugh, have interesting conversations, taste wine and recall great times from travels all over the world. We have no children, yet we dote on our indoor rescue dog. We cannot accommodate a Workawayer with children or pets, however. Al is in the early stages of dementia and is able to do all ADL's independently (activities of daily living; personal hygiene; mobility).

    We wish to find a mature couple or a individual to primarily assist with Al's elder care, companionship & socialization and assisting Betty (or giving her a break!) PLUS any or all of the following: general household chores, errands, grocery shopping, meal prep and clean, driving Al to doc appointment (he no longer drives), medication management & reminders, and overall organization/management of what it takes to keep the house running smoothly and on schedule. Expertise in general maintenance (changing bulbs, painting, repairs) is a plus, but secondary to elder care. Prior your arrival, we will discuss and mutually agree to the specifics of your daily/weekly responsibilities. You need to be a good listener, have patience and flexibility. It will be most helpful for you to have experience with caring for someone with dementia.

    Having your own transportation is a definite PLUS! You will want to explore our beautiful area. We look forward to taking you to some out-of-the-way local places of interest as well.

    Minimum amount of time is 3 weeks. maximum is 3+ months following the 3-week introductory and our mutually deciding to go forward. We can discuss a monthly stipend for long-term stay. There should be time in your day to work part-time online, though I doubt that you'd be able to sustain a full time job (unless it can be done at night). You can also expect Betty to be out of town for 3-4 days occasionally during which time you will be responsible for household and care routines. Al is fluent in German, so if you'd like to learn or practice German, he'd be a great teacher!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our location in Texas will provide you with many, many opportunities to experience what it’s like to be a TEXAN!! We have numerous outdoor activities (swimming hole; fresh spring creeks, rivers; hiking; biking (bring your bike); canoeing, kayaking, tubing. Venues for live country-western-blues music abound, along with dance halls & country dancing. Wimberley has art galleries and tourist shops, plus great barbecue—the GREATEST!! San Marcos (home of Texas State University), Austin and San Antonio are both very close and offer city-experiences, too. You can have it all here in Wimberley!! And, we love to show it to our visitors. We are also available to take you to out-of-the-way local places of interest & introduce you to this lovely area of Texas!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You need to be a good listener, have patience and flexibility. The sooner you can arrive, the better! Additionally, Betty needs help organizing the house, and keeping up with normal routine things!
    You will assist with TV remotes and finding Al's preferred channels on cable. He successfully uses a VCR to watch classic movies of which he has collected over 300! Occasional assistance on the computer is also needed (logging on; finding information; basics).

    Please let me know your strengths and how you think you can fit in.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Al has lived in Germany approximately 20 years and speaks German fluently.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We prefer and individual but can accommodate a couple. You will have a separate bedroom within our home with a queen bed, closet, small writing table, lamps, etc. and shared adjacent bathroom. Our townhome is large enough for private space when you wish to take a personal break, perhaps in our indoor atrium or across the street in a large gazebo or under the shade trees around the private swimming pool for residents. We are a short walk away from Cypress Creek where kayaking and swimming are available. Nearby is a tavern which has live music and dancing on the weekends.
    We will generally have evening meals together. We will be sharing living space and common areas, so maintaining neatness and respecting others is necessary. No loud music or smoking allowed inside; alcohol in moderation only. Refrigerator and storage space for personal food items is available. Probably you will be in charge of preparing your own breakfast and lunch, so you may tell me what you like to eat for those meals and I will purchase it, or we can purchase it together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    No public transportation is available. You will need a car for most activities and exploring. Wimberley, Texas, is located where the Cypress Creek and the Blanco River meet and is 45 minutes outside of Austin. A lot of people refer to this town as "a little bit of Heaven." The main attractions around Wimberley are the Blue Hole Regional Park, Jacob's Well, Old Baldy Mountain, Wimberley Glassworks, Wimberley Valley Winery and the shady Wimberley Square (shopping and dining). The drive from Wimberley to Blanco on the Devils Backbone, FM 32, provides sweeping vistas of the hills. Wimberley is the central flyway spot for migrating birds. The Edwards Plateau is a perfect location to watch these beautiful birds and view the vast variety of natural fauna and abundant wildlife. In October, Wimberley hosts migrating Monarch butterflies too. In Dripping Springs, Hamilton's Pool (30 minutes away) provides a breathtaking natural amenity. There are many wineries, distilleries, and breweries in this area, too, plus some good restaurants.

    From San Marcos (15 miles away) you can catch a bus to Austin or San Antonio, where you can spend the day sightseeing. San Antonio is home to the Alamo, location of the most important battle for Texas' independence from Mexico took place. The San Antonio Riverwalk offers a scenic way to shop, eat and drink you rway around the San Antonio River downtown. Austin is the capitol of Texas and considered the live music capitol of the US! Any night you can find an array of fantastic musicians and many musical venues. Home to the 2nd largest free-tail bat community in the world, Austin's South Congress Bridge is the place to be at dusk! There's so much to do in and around our little community of Wimberley & in the entire Hill Country area that you will be enchanted with all the possibilities! Most days you can enjoy outdoor activities.

    Please investigate these websites to get an idea of what you would like to see & experience. Flea markets, wineries and local events abound in many of the surrounding towns and cities.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    High speed wifi available

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 996892312367