Carpentery,general maintenance and car/bike restoration in the Far north of Norway

Country

Norvège

Enregistré comme favori 144 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.03.2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    English/Norwegian family living in the far north of Norway.
    We are a family who are trying to build a more self sufficient life,wind turbines,up cycling,solar energy.
    In the summer we try to grow our own food as much as we can and we build lots of projects from recycled materials.
    I am an artist and stay at home dad,love building sculptures and painting and just generally experimenting with different materials.

    We are looking for help with various projects which include carpentry and general maintenance and car and motorcycle restoration/service.

    As it's winter now the project/building is at a minimal but there is still things to do which I've listed further down the profile 😊

    I have a barn which doubles as a art studio and apartment. It's a separate building from our main residence and it's a fully upcycled apartment built from locally sourced materials.

    There is a composting toilet and worms eat your mess 😊

    Water is collected from the main house.

    Currently you can experience the northern lights right outside the front door,we live ten minutes from the airport and ten minutes from the wilderness where ice fishing and northern lights are visible abound.

    We would prefer couples but that's not a prerequisite.

    We also love bushcraft etc

    In regards to meals.

    Our kitchen is available for a main evening meal if you'd like to eat with us. Depending on size of your group (up to 4 adults)we can provide basic type meals (pasta,salad,bread,tea,coffee)

    We are vegetarian but if you want to eat meat we'd ask you provide that for yourself.

    If you'd want to cook your own food there is a small kitchen unit in the barn and small fridge for milk etc.

    We would provide cereals and oat meal aswell as milk and bread/butter for breakfast.

    I have a large family so in can be hectic what with football practices and general kids stuff going on. We have hosted and warm showers for years so we are used to guests 😊
    We do of course reserve the right not to accept guests as we have had a couple of bad experiences with other sites in the past unfortunately.

    We don't allow wild parties and loud music due to having a neighbor close by and that we have children. We ask that our property and way of life is respected and we of course reciprocate that to others.

    There is absolutely no smoking in the barn/workshop and accommodation.

    We do have a cockerel so he can be a little bit annoying sometimes,to be fair he isn't to loud but he can make you jump.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Projets artistiques

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Northern lights safari,winter camping and teaching Norwegian/English.

    Sharing ideas and art skills.

    Depending on our schedule we can help with driving to the ice hotel and town etc.

    Local Alta museum and Tirpitz museum.

    We can loan a Lavu to sleep in outside with a fireplace.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    General carpenter skills and maintenance and a active outside the box thinking approach to up cycling and art projects and vehicle restoration and maintenance.

    I restore and work on old cars and motorbikes so if you are handy with a spanner there is always a project or four to work on.

    Currently I am working on a 1976 Honda gl1000 cafe racer project.

    1959 vw beetle total restoration

    Vw syncro camper conversion

    Lada niva 4x4



    In general I need help putting in two roof windows,some slate cutting to the roof tiles and general carpentry finishing work.

    Other jobs which I need help with~

    Help with my wind turbine 12 volt system and help fitting solar panels on my semi flat roof,building angled supports.

    Cladding to the outside of a building I have built and again general carpentry finishing work.

    In my main house I need help with general carpentery finishing work,door listings,mouldings etc.

    Also some storage shelfs.

    Internal painting and decorating.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Self sustained eco apartment.

    Can sleep 5/6 comfortably.


    Tv,wifi,x box etc

    Living room with sofas and pull out bed.

    Bedroom with one double and one single bed.


    Composting toilet in bathroom

    Water in jerry cans.

    Shower in main house.

    There is a small kitchen,micro wave,sink and cooking utensils etc.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We can (depending on our schedule) try to help with ice fishing and winter camping tours.

    Northern lights hunting (although if it's here you can just look out in the garden outside)

    Driving to town and airport etc

    Life is slow here,depending on when you are here it could be 24hrs daylight or 24hrs darkness. It's a challenge to get your head around that and it can be difficult to adjust especially if you are trying to work or sleep.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours


N° de référence hôte : 986151414874