Aidez-nous à préparer la maison de nos rêves pour sa grande rénovation - Aide à l'int. et à l'ext., Anjou, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 21 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.01.2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Elodie, I'm 46 and work as an English teacher at the universty of Angers. My husband, Serge, is 61 and will retire from primary school teaching in September. We got married a little more than a year ago and live mostly on our own since our respective children are grown-ups, either with a family of their own or still studying.
    Serge and I wished to find a home in a quiet place, not too far from the commodities of a city. We had in mind to find an old house that we would renovate to our tastes and needs, with some land to have our vegetable garden.
    And we found the house of our dreams: an old "longère" in Anjou, not far from Angers. The place is idyllic to us. The land is bigger than we had hoped, so we are already thinking of having little goats and donkeys at some point to help us keep up with the grass growing.

    We love cooking and good food. Meals are important moments of the day that we enjoy to share and talk while enjoying the food.
    My husband loves music and is an excellent photographer. He used to teach Aikido.
    I'm more into crafting, like sewing and potery for instance. But I used to do a lot of dancing when I was young, and still love it.

    We also enjoy traveling in our camping van. We toured Austria and quite a large part of France in the past few years. Our next trips abroad will be Cornwall, Scotland, Spain, Italy... We dream of having enough time to go to Norway and visit the fjords... We are very curious about other cultures and are keen on learning about other people's perspectives on life.
    When I was 18, I spent a year in the USA, and my daughter, at the same age, spent a year in India. Traveling is a beautiful part of life.

    During the workaway periods, we will both be at home so it will be pleasant to spend time with our workawayers. I speak English and quite good Spanish, while Serge is doing pretty good in English and willing to improve.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    At home, my husband and I will have you try good typical recipes and we'll be happy to go visit some places with the workawayers if they'd like to. We'll offer them the French way of life on a day-to-day basis. Serge has a great sense of humour and we'll have a good time.
    If you are interested in photography, Serge will be thrilled to discuss with you or show you tips to make good photos.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The house needs a lot of remodeling but before we can actually launch into that step, we need help to remove quite a bit of wooden wall panelling.
    Our yard is also quite large and hasn't clearly not been tended well for a long time. So there is outdoor work to do as well such as gathering dead wood pieces, weeding out some invasive plants, getting rid of ivy on walls, etc.
    The tempartures will be nice in the mornings as from May.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Since the house won't be really used, we can offer a coach in one of the bed rooms for a couple or one person or, for nature lovers, there is plenty of places to plant a tent somewhere around the house. The view on the valley will be beautiful in the morning.
    The bathroom in the house functions perfectly, though it looks dated.
    We have bikes that we will be happy to lend to our workawayers.
    I will cook for everyone. Breakfast will be the French way with fresh bread, butter, jam, and honey, and my husband and I also like having cheese in the morning. We hope to share and learn recipes from abroad!
    We are not vegetarians, but we consume meat in a sensible manner. We are carfeful about where and how the animals are bred, to make sure they are treated well. So you won't have meat everyday if you stay with us.
    We are non smokers.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in the Vallée du Layon, a place where you will find vinyards and more specifically, you will be able to taste our nice Layon wine (white and usually a bit sweet).
    Our medium-sized city, Chalonnes-Sur-Loire, in right on the River Loire, in an area that belongs today the UNESCO's world heritage due its beautiful river banks where it's really pleasant to stroll or go biking.
    There is a train station 10 minutes away from our house for the workawayers to go visit Nantes, Pornic, Angers, etc. autonomously.
    Angers is the first green city in France. It's beautiful, full of historical places to visit (The Castle with tis famous 100-meter-long tapestry from the 14th century for instance), a lot of cafés and restaurants, an art museum, old churches, a cathedral...). THe cultural dynamism of the city is also remarkable.
    The Loire Castles are a little further to the East for those who would like to visit a couple of them.
    Last but not least Anjou is a region famous for its wines and "douceur angevine" (very pleasant and comfortable weather with very welcoming people).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 973149551238