Enjoy the taste of Welsh countryside life gardening at our home in the Brecon Beacons, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 10 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 9 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a self employed Artist mainly working in Ceramics, with some painting and drawing. I work every day if I can in my studio for three or four hours sometimes much longer depending on work requirements. The rest of the day I manage the home, cook, deal with gardening needs.
    Myself and my family live in a very beautiful area of Wales close to many places of interest for travellers. I am mainly looking for someone to help with the garden and few household chores if necessary. We are keen for Spanish speaking people to come here so that we can practise, though we understand the person might want to speak in English too.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a very friendly family keen on meeting people from other countries - especially Spanish people, as we have some level of speaking ourselves and want to practise. This is not essential however and people from anywhere in the world may apply!

    We are keen to share our beautiful area with others and give a welcoming experience of our life here in rural Wales. Two of our children Manon and Evan are at university, and two Tom and Kim live at home and work locally. Sometimes everyone is at home and this can be busy though the house is of a generous size. Two of us have done work away themselves, in Italy and Sri Lanka.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Ideally we are looking for people who are Spanish speakers, keen on gardening (learners welcome), food lovers, environmentalists, people who like the outdoors.
    Help in our large organic garden, such as weeding and mowing. We have a no-dig veg garden so no digging! Some household tasks such as hoovering, peeling vegetables, washing up. I ask 3 hours of help a day, preferably in the morning. We are looking for people who show initiative and would not need continous supervision, and clean up after themselves.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Spanish speakers very welcome. Happy to talk in both English and Spanish. Evan speaks Italian and Kim Spanish. I speak a bit of Spanish as I worked in Honduras for a year a long time ago.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live in a detached house in a large garden of nearly two acres on the edge of a village, at the foot of the Blorenge hill, in the Brecon Beacons national park. We live in easy walking distance to the town Abergavenny, next to a cycle path, near a railway and bus station. All these are an easy walking distance from our home.

    There is one room only available and we are looking for one person to come not couples sorry.

    We have two dogs and two cats that live in the house so the guest must be happy with these animals and also not allergic to them. Chickens, a goose, a duck and Beeehives are in the garden.

    We all love home cooked food here. Often most of it from our vegetable garden and pollytunnel. Meat if used, is sourced locally. We often prepare meals together - mainly vegetarian with one or two meals with meat a week. We would expect the guest to join in with us and eat supper together. We are happy to only cook vegetarian while the guest is here ( one of my sons is vegetarian ) but not Vegan. We are happy for the guest to sort out their own lunch elsewhere or stay in our house for this and eat a simple lunch such as a sandwich or bowl of soup and bread.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are many places to visit locally on foot/cycling/driving. This is a holiday destination area. There are many walking paths on our doorstep. I am a cold swimmer and am happy for the guest to join me with this activity any time of year. I also walk my 2 dogs every day and the guest can join with this or go with the dogs, one or both, alone if they are confident.

    We all love music from many genres so musicians are also very much welcome here. Kim plays the piano and we are both in a local ( very amateur) choir singing a range of classical repertoire. We also have a couple of guitars here.

    I am happy to pick up the guest at the beginning and end of the trip at the nearest bus or train station in Abergavenny but not to taxi in between as I try and limit my driving.

    No smokers sorry. We request the guest to be fully vaccinatted for Covid 19 with proof of this. No anti vaxxers please.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Wifi is fully functional

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    space for one vehicle. small campervan only. Access to our parking is too narrow for large vehicles.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 hours/day , 5 days


N° de référence hôte : 849191345348