Come and help us to create a nature preserve and permaculture farm in the eastern townships of Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 36 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.06.2019

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a new adventure for us - Joe & Mary. We are a married couple, 60 years old, engineer and accountant, English-speaking and studying to learn French. We moved to the beautiful eastern townships of Quebec two years ago where we found the ideal property for us to create a nature preserve and permaculture farm and also a friendly and fun place to gather for rest and recreation. We are fun-loving, adventurous and open to any projects as long as they are respectful of our dear earth, water, air, flora and fauna. Hoping to find partners to help us and share in our dreams and good fortune. It is snowing today so we are excited to anticipate a lovely hike through the forest with Panda dog and Cindy cat, our furry girls adopted last January. The only other permanent residents are native bird, fox, deer, porcupine, skunk, raccoon, moose, coyote, rabbit, squirrel, groundhog, snake, turtle, frog, toad, mouse, vole, shrew, worm, snail and of course butterflies, moths, spiders and many others from the insect realm. If you love to star gaze, this is the place for you. We love to skate and snowshoe in winter and hike and bike in summer. Joe plays guitar and sings and we love music in all forms. Going to set up a karaoke system soon.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are English speaking but we live in a completely French community. We can offer lessons in conversational English and ideally we could exchange language skills with a French speaking guest. We are located 1 1/2 hours east of Montreal and 40 minutes west of Sherbrooke. We are ten minutes drive to either Waterloo or Valcourt and 30 minutes drive to the nightlife of either Magog or Granby. The Eastern Townships (Estrie) landscape is breathtaking with mountains, lakes, rivers, beaches and 3 national parks . Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts will be delighted by the many activities available: hiking, biking, camping, skiing, golf, horseback riding, hunting and fishing. Here you will find many local products such as wine, beer, cheese, meats, maple syrup, fruits, vegetables, breads, kombucha, health food products. Our quality of life is outstanding. Some of the nearby known attractions are Cinezoo, Granby Zoo, Asinerie Les Anes en Culotte and Mine Cristal. There are many other hidden treasures to explore.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a long list of projects that require other helping hands and/or expertise and especially creativity. There are building maintenance projects for the barn and shed - sheet metal repair, shingle replacement, painting. There are gardening projects - started a hay bale garden and herb spiral and composting and worm composting. There are recreational projects - setting up a volleyball court and planning for a sauna and hot tub and setting up an obstacle course and fixing the swing set. There are art projects - mural painting on outbuildings, plenty of tree stumps for carvings, making dried flower arrangements. We love our property. All we need are companion spirits to join us.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live in a bunglalow with 2 bedrooms on main floor and open-concept basement which we flex depending on our guests. The basement has the potential for two separate bedrooms too. There is plenty of workshop space in the house, the garage, the shed, the small barn and there is also a trailer with a covered porch. Our small town is 1 km away. We eat healthy mostly and can adapt our meals for vegans or vegetarians but we do still eat meat, poultry, fish, eggs and cheese. We don't smoke at all and drink on social occasions only. We love to prepare meals as a group when we have guests. Our rule is you cook you clean up after you cook and preferably we do both together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are plenty of choices for off time. We have bikes available here or we can offer drives to the various towns and cities which we frequent. Joe works in Montreal and our son lives in Sherbrooke. We also alternate visits for supplies to the various surrounding towns. There is a Catholic church nearby and some formal recreation activities in our little town of 600. Outdoor skating and pickleball will be available in winter.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours/day 5 days/week



N° de référence hôte : 828249827179