Help me with home decluttering and experience daily life in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 16 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.06.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a sixty-something woman who has that rare commodity here in Vancouver - more space than I need - and very little time to maintain it, as I work (from home for now) full-time weekdays, and am also an evening/overnight carer for a developmentally challenged man who lives in the next building over.

    I have hosted international students/working holiday visa travelers from all over the world for many years. I expect to do that again perhaps in September if the university where I work begins to offer mostly in-person classes again, but until then, I am okay with paying full rent and offering room and board in exchange for help whipping the flat into shape and other help (see below).

    If you are an international student or worker exempt from the discretionary travel ban, I am willing to provide whatever you need during your mandatory self-isolation period. I will be vaccinated tomorrow (yay!), and expect that anyone, Canadian or international, that I live with will be vaccinated at the earliest possibility, and abide by all provincial guidelines regarding social distancing and masking.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to share my cooking and baking skills, help a Workaway learn about Canadian culture(s) and practice their English, if desired (bonus if you speak Spanish, as I am finding it difficult to learn on Duolingo alone). I can also teach you to juggle, and how to make a perfect from-scratch pie crust every time.

  • Aide

    Aide

    My mother died a few months ago and I have taken custody of items she had stored for my daughter, who lives in the US and is unable to come and collect them without spending two weeks in self-isolation. So I need help storing that stuff more effectively, as well as help going through my own stuff and getting rid of things I no longer want (hauling it down three flights of stairs to be taken away, or taking it up the street to the thrift; I do not have a vehicle), and hauling stuff I want to keep but don't need straight away to a storage locker in my client's building next door.

    I also need help with shopping and meal prep, both for myself and my client, but a Workaway would not have any other responsibilities for my client as he has difficulty adjusting to new people and is very private. I take his dinner to him, or cook it there, then come home again and cook for myself (our tastes in food are quite different) until I go back next door to sleep at around 11, then I come back in the morning an hour or two before I begin work at 8:30.

    Three days a week I dog sit for a neighbour, and I have an indoor cat. A Workaway would not be expected to participate in caring for the animals, I am just putting that in here in case of allergies.

    Help with shopping would be great. There are plenty of small, independent shops (bakeries, butcher, greengrocers etc. just a few blocks away, and once every few weeks my client's sister drives me to a big box store to load up on stuff he needs that aren't readily available in the smaller shops in the neighbourhood. If you are coming from outside Canada, you will not be able to do my daily shopping during your mandatory self-isolation (I will have to do it for you), but it's something I would want you to take on eventually.

    Help with cooking meals that can be frozen, mainly for the client, on the weekend would be great, too. And although I enjoy cooking and baking, it goes faster with two sets of hands.

    Finally, once the flat's in shape again, I'd like some help putting up some pictures and generally beautifying, as well as setting up my old-school stereo system so I can listen to my vinyl again.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I would like to learn Spanish, as I hope to retire in Central America, but this is not required. I am happy to help English language learners.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Large furnished (queen bed, desk, dresser, chair, lamp) in a two-bedroom flat on a quiet tree-lined street in the city (transit zone 1) walking distance to shops, services, restaurants, community centre, parks, transit, greenway. Share bathroom, living room and kitchen.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Because of covid, many local sights/activities that I would normally recommend are currently closed, but I would be happy to recommend those when they are open again. There are many beautiful places (beaches, forest, UBC Campus, parks) easily accessible by bus or bike.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    At most a few hours a day, perhaps more on weekends when we can work together on the decluttering project.


N° de référence hôte : 797417214595