Help build a small Log Cabin on our Ranch in Oregon, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 46 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    292

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my wife and I operate a small Working Guest Ranch in Southeast Oregon, USA. We offer Ranch Lodging, Horseback Rides, Cowboy Experiences and take guests on horseback to view/photograph the wild Mustang horses. During the winter months, the Guest Ranch operation slows down and we use that time for new projects.

    This winter we are going to build a small guest log cabin. It will be just one room and a bathroom. We have the logs on site now, but we need to mill them on our small band sawmill before we can begin construction on the cabin.
    About us: We are a happy husband and wife team, ages 56 & 59. We raised 6 children and now have 18 grandchildren. We enjoy meeting new people.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Construction
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workaways could experience the cowboy way of life and how ranching is done in our part of the world.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Workaways would be helping with the construction of a small log cabin. So, some basic carpentry skills would be helpful, but not essential, so long as there is a desire to learn and help. We can teach what a workaway would need to know if they don't have the skills already. There will be physical lifting of small logs (8 foot long by 6 inches around), so physical health is important.
    We are also looking for help with continued training/riding of horses during the winter. We have an indoor riding barn for days when the weather is stormy.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Danish and a little spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is a Cabin with bathroom, shower, microwave, small refridgerator, and table. A nice queen-size bed and twin-size bed. Workaways would have use of laundry facilities and kitchen in the main Ranch House. Most of the time, we would prepare the meals together and eat together. (Maybe we could swap some eating traditions).
    We usually make it to town (1 hour away) every 2 weeks and workaways would be welcome to come along and give input on the food choices. We try to accomodate dietary restrictions if we can. We try to eat a variety of healthy foods. We do eat meat, vegetables, fruit, bread, etc.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have lots of wide open spaces to enjoy. Lots of hiking, Horseback riding, There are some beautiful drives in the mountains that are pretty close to us. There are wild Mustangs to see. We do have a hot spring that we like to go to in the winter. We are not big alcohol drinkers, but we don't mind if workaways want to drink on their time, but we would expect it not to be present in the work place.
    We go to church on Sunday and workaways are welcome to go with us if they want. Out here in this country it is a good place to socialize and meet people. There is not a local taxi service out here, nor a bus system. The only transportation is by personal vehicle. So you would need to have your own car or put up with going with us . (The last work away never moved her car while here for almost two months. We could pick you up at the Airport in Boise Idaho and return you there when it was time to leave if needed.
    We try hard to be honest in all our dealings with our fellow man. Family is an important part of our life. We love the great outdoors and enjoy being in it.
    In the main Ranch house there is a ping pong table, piano, guitar, fireplace, and books.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 796146163127