Help on an organic farm at the foot of Mt Alexander, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 142 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.07.2020

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a fruit orchard at the foot of Mt Alexander. We have beautiful views of the valley and a big beautiful dam for swimming in the summer. The farm is just one element of the an organic farming Co-op. The property also hosts some veggie growers and a micro-dairy. Apart from running the orchard, where we grow stone fruit apple and pears, we also have pigs, geese and dogs. We often preserve fruit in various ways like canning, juicing, jaming and making vinegar and alcohol. We are a working farm passionate about proving the model that small-scale farms can feed the world. We sell directly to our community at farmers' markets, Pick Your Own Days, Farm Gate Shop and through our Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) program.

    When I am not working on the farm, I like to spend time in the local community at music/art events, visiting friends for dinner and creative pursuits, visiting Melbourne or attending food sovereignty events (I am a member of an Alliance which fights for farmers’, peasants’ and eaters’ rights in Australia and globally). There's a mountain bike park next door, excellent mushroom foraging nearby, old gold mining ruins to explore and plenty of opportunities for bushwalking.

    We are a gay / queer friendly farm and does not tolerate discrimination of any variety.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Visitors will see how a small scale regenerative farm operates in Australia. We are part of the only organic farming co-operative of our kind in Australia and are offering a Community Supported Agriculture program which is also a new endeavour for orchards across Australia. Those who are interested can learn the in's and out's of how this kind of 'solidarity economy' works as an alternative to capitalist economic systems.

    Most of the food I eat and share here is from this farm or local community. I also participate in many food and agriculture related community activism events and enjoy spending time outside in the nature. I am a member of an alliance which asserts the rights of farmers and eaters. Volunteers will learn about food sovereignty during their stay.

    I speak some Spanish so would love to improve on that but I'm also happy to help with your English. I often spend time with friends sharing food, music, poetry and other creative expression together. You are more than welcome to join me at these events.

    Helpers will have the opportunity to participate in occasional activities such as butchering and curing animals, baking bread or making fermented drinks.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The main work to be done is out amongst the orchard trees - pruning, thinning and picking fruit or managing the geese. Those with specific skills can be given other tasks or a project - e.g. rebuilding the website of our organisation or planting out my garden beds.

    I would love someone with BUILDING EXPERIENCE to help me construct a roof over my home (I live in a caravan also).

    Workawayers are also welcome to come and join us at farmers' markets. Its a great way to interact with the local community and experience all the locally grown/made produce in one place. There is often music, coffee and snacks available too.

    As I make a living from my farm I am required by WORKAWAY to offer payment to helpers. Should helpers elect to accept payments they would be asked to also cover the series of costs associated with their stay. Please express your preference for either remuneration or moneyless exchange in your initial contact. I have a strong preference for a no-money mutual exchange.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accomodation is in a clean, powered caravan with wifi access. There is currently no running water (there is a jerry can you can use). The caravan is next to a house where you can use the bathroom and laundry). Workawayers are expected to contribute to cooking and cleaning duties. They will have to cook for themselves on occasion with food that is provided.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 716918563121