Help at a cat shelter with 200 cats in Calabria, Italy

Country

Italie

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 60 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 12 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The Italian law states that strays must be protected from mistreatment.
    The Italian law provides for due punishment for those who abandon and/or mistreat an animal.
    According to the Italian law City Councils and local health bodies are required to take action in order to protect strays, launch recurrent neutering projects, and take other steps in their favour, such as running or funding public shelters for cats and dogs.
    But there are areas in Italy where this law doesn't seem to apply, because there is no one who respects strays, and many citizens don't even take due care of their own home pets. They prefer to abandon them unneutered on the streets when they are fed up with them. There is no one to enforce animal protection regulations, and there is no one who cares!
    And so pets are abandoned, abused, poisoned, made the target of voluntary tortures and ill-treatments, without anyone lifting a finger. And without public bodies doing anything to prevent this, by enforcing due punishment for those who break the law.
    Italian Southern regions are like hell for strays. In most cities and villages the only hope for strays are a few volunteers of good will. And so, unfortunately, it works in Reggio Calabria.
    Our beautiful city is devastated by so many problems, including a shameful neglect towards strays. Creatures that have no fault other than that of coming into the world, if not that of having to do with people who are the real beasts.
    In a city where every dumpster is a feline colony, one day a woman decided to say ENOUGH!
    Her name is Daniela, and since that day, more than 20 years ago, she has changed what was a passion and an outburst of the heart into a full-time volunteer work round the clock!
    Rushing to every call, rescuing, helping, looking after, caring, and unfortunately accompanying many little friends on the last journey.
    For love, and for love only, Daniela has founded a charity organisation and has opened this place, a private shelter for abandoned felines right next to her home, where she welcomes any creature that needs her help.
    Like an angel in the midst of heaps of garbage and traffic jams, she works 18-20 hours a day in her shelter, all year round, cleaning the place over and over again to keep it spotless, and caring for their kitties, with the only help of husband Eric, and the only mission to save these little ones from death, give them visibility and find them a real home with a caring foster family.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Visit historical areas of Calabria, enjoy nature, beaches and mountains nearby, taste local food.
    Learn how to take care of cats and dogs.

  • Aide

    Aide

    House Cleaning
    Cleaning cat litter boxes
    Feeding cats and dog
    Doing laundry
    Taking care of the cats

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    English teachers welcome provided they are mainly ready to help in the house

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your own room with a double bed, confortable bathroom w/toilet and shower, WiFi, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner with help welcome to cook and prepare meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Public transport is not very efficient, not so frequent bus service, you need to walk from bus stop to our place. If you have a car or motorbike you'll be much well off to go sightseeing and visit the city area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 647357181142