Make learning fun for our kids and enjoy the city of Jerez de la Frontera, Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 18 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.01.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in Jerez de la Frontera, in Cadiz, which is one of the biggest cities in the south, close to the shore. In fact, beaches are only 15 km far from home. We are four at home, well, five with you. We are Encarni and David, we are in our 40’s and we have two sons, David (10 years old) and Nacho (8 years old). We live in a vey quiet area, near the countryside in a house.

    We both work out of home, well, since the last year, Encarni spend more time at home. The children attend the school from 9 to 15 or 1530. David is a motorbike pilot, so he has to train every week 2 times, Monday and Tuesday (3 hrs each day). Because of that, we travel a lot around Spain. He loves sport and play with his friends outside (no play station). Nacho is starting to train Mountain Bike, so he goes on Tuesday and Thursday evenings to practice.

    Apart from that, Encarni is from Málaga and we have a house there (300 meters far from the beach) and we go there several times to spend, normally, weekens.

    We love to spend time together, visit new places, go to the beach and the countryside. We can say that our live is very active.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    For us it very important that you feel like at home. We hope that you’ll become a member of our family, in fact, in our experience it is possible, because last girl was here for ten months and everything was great.

    Apart from that, the south of Spain is the easiest place to know new people, and Jerez is not an exception. There is an important community of foreign people living here, from different countries like Germany, Denmark, Italy… with whom you can easily get in contact.

    the girl who was with us last 10 months gave us the following information that could be useful for other people:

    I spent almost one year as a workawayer in Jerez de la Frontera. It's a beautiful old city in the south of Spain. You can visit very nice places here, like the Alcazar, the cathedral or Bodegas of the Sherry wine, which origin is Jerez. You can learn a lot about the history of the Sherry wine and also about Jerez.

    Of course you also can learn Spanish here very easily. There aren't a lot of people who speak English so you can learn very fast! And if you learn Spanish here you can understand it all around the world, because the people here have a very andalusian accent.

    On the weekends (and sometimes also during the week) you can go out and spend your nights in bars, discos or the Tabancos which are typical for Jerez. You can meet a lot of new people here and have talks until the early hours in the morning. I met people from all around thd world and I found very good friends here. In Jerez there always are a lot of people from other countries who are Aupairs, workawayers, volunteers, English teachers, students etc..

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need some support to take care of our children, especially during the afternoon, because we both work out from home. It’s not a lot of time, so you will have a lot of free time to study Spanish, go out with friends and know new people. The only important thing it’s you have driving license, just in case you’d go to pick them up from school or activities.

    At home, it’s very important that you talk with them in English, the language is one of the reasons to stay here. They are children, so they are always traying to be outside playing with their friends, but during working days, they need one hour of English class, at least.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are interested in improve our level in English, and we will help you to learn Spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You can choose between to different possibilities at home. First one is to stay in a private room in the first floor, it’s a very beatifull and bright room. The bathroom is close to the room and you’ll be there very good. We also have our rooms in the same floor. The other possibility is to get a room in the basement, you will have more privacy but less sun. You will be free to choose and to change if you want.

    The house has a big saloon-dinning room, the fridge is always full of food (Spanish style) and we usually cook at home every day, in fact, we love cooking, specially big David. We have garden surrounding the hose and in the housing there are a swimming pool and to paddel courts that you can use.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As we said previously, the people who came home is another member of our family. Our previous experience has been very, very good in that aspect, so we will try to repeat the same in the next ones. In the same way, we expect something similar from you.

    Our Daily rhythm is a little bit “fast”, you know, fast for this city, not for you if came from a big city or you are used to crazy city life style. We travel quite a lot, but we are happy and it usual for us.

    We know that you are young and you need to go out, to know people and the night life, so we will try always to help you to do it. And, of course, we will be more than happy to show you places, cities and villages if you want to go with us.

    Jerez is as I mentioned before in the south of Spain. In Jerez is a train station. Multiple times a day there is a train from Jerez to Cádiz (45min, 4€). Cádiz is a very beautiful city directly at the beach. It's the oldest city of Europe and definetely worth a visit. You also can go to closer beaches for example in El Puerto de Santa María where you also can go by train (15min, 2€). From the train station in Jerez there also are trains to Sevilla and to Madrid.

    There also is a big bus station in Jerez from where are a lot of busses to little cities around Jerez. Perfect for a one day trip and to see other cities and beaches.

    Another highlight could be to visit Tarifa. Tarifa is the most southern point of Spain and Europe. Its just a very little city so one day is definetly enough to visit it but it's very nice. It's the entrance to he Strait of Gibraltar from the Atlantic Ocean, the place where it and the Mediterranean Sea are connected and you can also see Africa from there.

    Andalusia in general is very beautiful and anybody can find something to do. It has beautiful cities, mountains and a great nature and a lot of beaches. For trips to other cities like Granada, Ronda or Cordoba I can recommend blablacar which works normally pretty good and which is much cheaper than the trains are.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 645549963957