Historical house restoration in Sidbury, East Devon, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 417 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an english/ dutch couple in our early 50's. We have just returned to the UK after many years abroad.
    I am a classical musician who played in the London Philharmonic Orchestra and then organised festivals and education projects on the continent. Gertrude is a clinical psychiatrist who has worked in many areas. We have two lovely children of 9 and 7 yrs and my 9 yr old son, Christopher has just been diagnosed with Dyslexia.
    As you can see from some of the pictures, we now own an historic house in Sidbury (East Devon). This is an historical listed building of special importance (Grade II *). We want to bring this house back to its former glory, open the house and gardens to the public and run an international concert series.
    We fell in love with this place and its surroundings, next to the saxon village of Sidbury and only 10 minutes from the amazing Jurassic coastline of England. Set in wonderful countryside and with old formal gardens and beautiful mature tress and shrubs. The house has been in the same family for over 500 yrs and we have just started our journey with it. As you can imagine, a lot of responsibility to continue maintaining and improving this fantastic building and its surrounding gardens and land.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learning possibilities on a project of this size is immense, in such a special place. You will learn about all the culture this very ancient part of England has to offer. Its people and the countryside around them. You will work with us and the community and witness local events in the town and at our house. Of course, you will be immersed in the English language to improve your language skills if you're foreign. We would like you to become part of our project and experience the way of life in this small community and equally we would like to learn about your culture, background and customs.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Dear All,

    So where do we start....As you can imagine, we need a variety of help. Most importantly you need to be passionate and with lots of energy! Ideally, we are looking for long stayers for a project of this scale. We offer paid employment opportunities based on your skills and availabilty.
    So we mainly need help for general building work and gardening. Can you offer specific skills in these areas or are you in training ? Do you have good horticultural knowledge to bring back old formal gardens to how they once were. Or can you help with cutting. mowing and clearing work
    What building skills do you have and can you offer any skills, such as masonary repair or carpentry? Or can you help with wall repair in the garden or laying tiles for paving ?
    We have a lot of accommodation in the manor house, so please don't be afraid to write to us with you ideas. And of course, we can give you much more information about us and the project when we make contact by email or phone.
    Remember, at this stage, it's only a conversation and who knows, it might be the start of a wonderful journey for you and us!

    We are very open to the imput of all you very talented Workaways out there. Come and join us in this wonderful corner of England.

    Kind regards,
    Matt, Gerty, Chris and Anna

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In a wing of the main manor house. All food provided. And access to a car to be able to travel around the area

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The beach at Sidmouth is less than 10 minutes by car and there is wonderful walking immediately from the garden of the house! We also have other interesting and thriving towns and villages nearby. Exeter, a large town is only 30 minutes away and London only 3 hrs by train.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 626322827242