Family help in a beach community in Delta, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 7 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.06.2020

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in a beach community. Our 3 bedroom suite is located a short walk to transit, beaches, a few shops, and a beautiful dyke along Boundary Bay. If you go for a longer walk, you can access several shops and cafes (within 1km). We live in an excellent area for biking as it is relatively flat. You can take a short bus or bike ride to a gorgeous beach park or an outlet mall.
    In the summer months, the beach is an excellent retreat from the heat. The bay is warm enough to swim in. And the beach itself is perfect for sunbathing and picnics. Our neighbourhood is very friendly and active, with bald eagle sitings frequently. We also have access to a back yard and fire pit - which is shared with the upstairs landlord.
    As a family, we enjoy going for walks, taking our toddler to the beach, playing board games, and enjoying good company over good food. Courtney (mom) is the creative type, which she channels into her cooking and baking these days. She is excited to learn new recipes from other cultures. Caleb (dad) is a carpenter who is obsessed with sports (and disappointed they’ve all been canceled this year, but it’s understandable). Both mom and dad have done lived in the UK. Caleb spent lengthy travels in Guatemala and South Korea. Courtney has worked with children in Thailand. June (toddler) is active, silly, and complicated. She loves the beach...or anything to do with water. Rose (newborn) is obsessed with eating and having cuddles. Please note that our household is gluten free.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Obviously these are challenging times right now with the pandemic. Since we have a newborn at home and a high risk family member who we are regularly in contact with, we expect our work away to follow the recommended social distancing guidelines. That might limit cultural experiences to some degree, especially because tourism is mostly shut down right now. But our community is the perfect place to be for summer. You can experience beach life, including fishing and crabbing (we will learn with you)! We are happy to help you practice your English. And willing to help with whatever other experiences we can accommodate given the pandemic - hiking and birding are both options.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are wanting help with childcare and household duties, whether that be meal prep, laundry, dishes (we do have a dishwasher), or tidying up after June. This would be for 5 days a week, up to 5 hours per day (usually mornings, with the afternoon off). Typically we would need help on 4 week days and 1 weekend day. We prefer a longer placement (4 weeks or more) if possible for June’s sake.
    Sometimes childcare would mean taking June outside (even in rain). Other times it would mean holding Rose when June naps so that Courtney can catch up on sleep.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, some Spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying in your own bedroom, twin bed. You’ll have your own tv that plays Netflix and YouTube. You will have access to internet. We also have a washer and dryer. Bathroom is shared because we only have one. The house itself is split into two living accommodations. The landlords live in the upstairs part of the house, and we live in the ground level suite.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your free time we recommend you enjoy the beach, go for a walk or bike ride, or check out one of the local cafes.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Enjoy walks along the Boondary Bay Dyke Trail. If you want to bike it, it’s very long (we think 17 km) and will lead you to another beautiful beach community with heaps of shops and restaurants (a tourist destination).
A regular outing for our family is taking walks to Beach Grove Cafe (900m away) and the beach.
Beach Grove Cafe is a 15 min easy walk away, and has such yummy drinks and food. They even sell nice souvenirs, apparel, and home decor.
Boundary Bay has amazing beaches on our side. The tide goes out very far, which is great for crabbing (though we haven’t tried). When it comes in, it’s nice and warm over the summer.
Our family of 4: Courtney (mom), June (toddler), Caleb (dad) & Rose (newborn).
N° de référence hôte : 557269728724