Help with Horses and DIY in Normandy, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 208 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    03.07.2022

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayer,

    Background:

    We are a fun and friendly British family in the countryside in Normandy, with 4 children, horses (15 horses and foals duee this spring) and also Button (9), Wookie 2 and Lily (2) the dogs. The family is Paul (48), Violet (43), Ellen (12), Jasper (11) and Phoebe (9) and Henry (5). Matic (31) from Slovenia, and Paula (32) from Germany also live with us. Matic manages the yard and horses and has been with us for 6 years. Paula helps on the yard helps with our social media and websites but also works independently. She first came to us as a Workawayer 2 summers ago and decided to stay! We also have 2cats snd 4 guinea pigs. We are English, the children are bilingual French, Violet also speaks fluent French and a little Italian and Paula's first language is german. Matic speaks German, slovenian, Serbo-Croat and various other european languages - but not french!

    Paul often works away from home and is just about to start a new job based in UK but also remote to we're yet to see how that will work out. Violet works from home running a rug wash and repair business.

    You may be able to ride, depending on your experience. Paul is a very experienced riding instructor and we have a huge outdoor arena with jumps, grazing and stabling. We live in the Normandy countryside in a friendly hamlet only 10 kms from a decent sized town with all the amenities. it would be ideal if you had your own transport as there is very little in walking distance.

    We enjoy welcoming people into our home, hearing your stories, telling ours, putting the world to rights and sharing jokes over a glass of wine or local pommeau. Paul, Violet, Ellen, Matic and Paula are fully vaccinated against covid.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Happy travels.

    xxx

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You would benefit from living in France and enjoying the French culture and language although we are British, we speak English at home and our life is essentially British. Two cultures for the price of one! Although we are in the countryside you will never be alone, but Falaise and Caen are an easy drive away.

    We live in glorious countryside and for those who enjoy animals, particularly horses and dogs, you have an opportunity for immersion. The summer is idyllic the winter can be pretty wet but there's nothing better than settling in front of the log burner in the evening knowing the horses are cosy and munching hay in their stables.

    We normally have something available to ride but not much for complete beginners, I'm afraid. Paul is a very experienced instructor as well. We are really fun, easy going welcoming family. Please come and stay!

    We eat healthy and homecooked food and I love to try vegan and veggie dishes although we as a family, eat everything. I can accommodate vegan or veggies but not 100% of the cooking as it is too tricky with the children who are pretty good eaters but finding veggies they all like is a challenge! I am very active, (dog) walking, running, riding, the occasional HIIT and longing to get into Yoga if anyone would show me the ropes.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Current Requirements:

    We would really love some help for the month of March as Matic and Paula are away.

    Our situation would suit a couple or 2 people to divide the tasks between them. Any age/circumstance welcome and a multitude of skills - but mostly outdoors or requiring someone quite robust.

    An extra pair of hands to help on the yard with the horses is what is most needed for this period. Help with feeding, mucking out and handling horses. Tractor drivers very welcome.

    We are finishing a massive kitchen renovation we've done ourselves and I have to finish the tiling, painting and install the new kitchen. Apart from that, we always have anything from odd jobs to building projects that need doing, plastering, painting, repairs. Would love to have a handy man/woman who could help us finish the jobs we've started. Anyone with building skills or just enthusiasm, fixing, finishing, painting....

    Other jobs are in the garden. there are limes that still need pollarding, hedges cutting and weeding before it all goes crazy in the spring.

    If any of the above interests you please let us know. Come for as long as you want. From our perspective, the longer the better but less than 1 week is not practical. You must drive, or if you are a couple one of you must- there is no public transport nearby and we don't have the time to take you places.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Slovenian: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am English but we live in France. I speak fluent french. My children are bilingual.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your accommodation is:

    The gîte (cottage) next to our house is available for the month of March only, then it is taken until August. You walk out of the back door and straight into the stables! Your own kitchen/ living room with log burner, double bed and ensuite shower all recently rennovated

    For the rest of the spring and summer a comfortable 6 bed caravan parked in the garden with double and/or single bed(s). It has a sink, gas cooker and chemical loo. Principle bathroom facilities are in the main house. You can sit outside your caravan, watching the mares grazing right in front of you!

    Although you will have your own space to retreat to when/if necessary, you are very welcome to spend as much or as little time in the main house with the family as you want. There is unlimited fast internet in both the house and gîte, Netflix etc.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are situated in the countryside in Bazoches au Houlme, 6kms from the nearest small town Putanges Pont Ecrepin , and 10km from Falaise with all types of shops and the famous castle of William the Conqueror. We are 45 minute drive from Caen, a large city with the port of Ouistreham with ferries to the UK and 3 hours by car or 2 hrs by train to Paris.

    5 minutes away is Lac de Rabodanges where there is water-skiing and a great pic nic spot. KRabo (lekrabo.fr/) 5 minutes away has very recently opened, an artisanal organic grocery, bar and cultural centre where activities such as yoga, medation and childrens board games afternoons as well as concerts by local musicians most weeks.

    Suisse Normande is 10 minutes away with walking, biking, hiking, kayaking and outdoor pursuits. Haras du Pin, site of the 2014 World Equestrian Games is 20 minutes away. Bagnoles de L'Orne, a well known spa town is half an hour away. The Normandie beaches are within easy reach of us with key WW2 historical sites and museums etc with the Memorial Museum in Caen 45 minutes away. There are numerous beaches and charming seaside towns from 45 minutes away such as Luc Sur Mer, Normandie's most famous landmark makes an excellent day trip.

    Train services nationwide are in easy reach either from Caen or Argentan. From there it is an easy trip to Le Mans and Paris. This location is better suited to drivers as there is little in walking distance. Caen Carpiquet airport is only 45 mins away, lots of national flights and some international ones. Rennes and Nantes airport are 2.5 hours away.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have excellent internet and our accommodation has its own independent internet supply.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Plenty of space here for your camper. We can hook you up to electricity.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    There are already 3 dogs here to play with, also 2 cats and 4 guinea pigs so any dogs must be trusted not to harass the permanent residents please.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 478595942119