Help with maintaining the croft and buildings in a remote peninsula in the Highlands, Scotland

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 134 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.11.2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on the croft on my own, my husband Bill died in 2015 and since then I have had a busy time with workers, family and friends visiting and helping. Both my step daughters are at uni in Scotland and pop up with friends to visit.
    I would like to reopen the pop up cafe again this year, which was a great hit last year. Its a help yourself very casual affair that is open as often as we can manage with fresh cakes, tray bakes to come in and help yourself to, in the conservatory which opens out on to a nice deck at the end of the house.
    I would also like to make a self contained bothy space out of one of the barns as an rental type space.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The peninsula that I live on as I said is quite remote but there are over 70 of a population, we have a good community of people of many ages , a thriving primary school, nursery and pre nursery. We enjoy a good social life between us all and come together often for community events and just in daily life we meet regularly. There are a variety of occupations that people are employed at and many people and things to learn from, we organise workshops and activities throughout the year.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I live in quite a remote peninsula in the Highlands and I run a Sea Taxi business, deliver the post 3x per week( at the moment, may increase), run a croft, market garden and hope to re open my pop-up cafe this summer, so help in many daily jobs and maintaining the croft and buildings, looking after the few sheep, hens and quails that I have plus the two delightful dogs who enjoy walks and the two very friendly outside cats. I also grow vegetables and fruit for my own kitchen, for veg boxes on and off the peninsula and for the freezer or for converting into jams, jellies, chutneys etc.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I have two step children who visit regularly along with family and friends but the house is quite big, so there is plenty of room for folk to stay in the house. Two double bedrooms and a twin room and the hope is to build in one of the barns a private bothy space away from the house which when not rented out would be available as a self contained space. I am happy if that was occupied by workaways that they would be welcome to join in at mealtimes.
    All bedding and towels supplied.
    I am happy to cook evening meals and breakfast and lunches are a help yourself affair, I'm always happy for folk to cook as well.
    I have a lot of my own meat, chicken, fish and eggs and other produce.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As I have mentioned I do live remotely on a peninsula which is only accessible by small boats or a 4 mile walk along a very scenic coastal path. People that have visited always enjoy walking around the peninsula, going up the mountain that's just out of the back door, with lochans to visit and swim in. We quite often manage to get out through the summer fishing and checking creels for crabs and lobsters, swimming in the sea, kayaking and windsurfing, there are also a couple of small sailing boats, which are available if people are competent.() always advisable to ensure there is a rescue boat about though)
    If folk come with a vehicle then its often possible to get off the peninsula for trips.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 394317989877