Join our sprouting art co-op in the medieval village of Provins, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 71 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 9 jours

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a recently formed co-op of American artists in the early stage of creating a live-in residence for US artists of all races, creed, gender and religion. But also from all disciplines and media.

    In the age of Trump, we realized the importance of showcasing our work to Europeans as a multitude of single voices. In this sprawling five-acre estate from the turn of the century, we shelter and provide a nurturing environment so the artist can devote time piously in just creating complete portfolios.
    We are run like an art co-op where net results come from direct from members' participation. We are located in the ville of Provins, which is designated by Google search as one of the top sights and getaway near Paris

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am an expatriate from the SF Bay Area living in France for the past 2 years. I have cyclo-toured the world in the 90's and was cyclo-touring as a workwayer until last fall. I grew up in Africa until my teens and come to think of it, I've always been an expatriate. A foreigner residing outside his country. I speak several languages and have been twice to Burning Man in the 90's which should probably give ya an idea of who your host might be.

    Because of the COVID traveling restrictions, I am still waiting for the members of my team to arrive from the US. We have embarked collectively to build an organization outside of our cultural framework (in France.) As long as we all share the same vision, we are emboldened to share it with others.

    As expatriates away from our homeland, we'd like to share the experience we have drawn from following our dream and vision on a foreign land

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are in need of gardening. This turn of the century house has a garden with a sprawling park, an orchard terrace, a vegetable meadow, a water cress pond, a stable etc. When we took possession of the property last winter, the garden (park) had been severely neglected for years. So was the orchard. We (me, myself and I) during the spring lockdown, found ourselves fighting futilely against an ever growing "jungle."
    Tree-branch clearing from the hiking paths is needed. Weed whacking and lawn mowing are also part of the list.
    During the fall, probably harvesting pears, apples, figs and walnuts.

    Nothing back-breaking or none of the skills for a Mars colonization needed.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The construction of the house started in 1895 and ended in 1904. it has no less than 9 bedrooms --each with its own fireplace. Workawayers get their own bedroom and are on dishwashing duties. All meals provided and cooked by "yours truly." For week-long stays, workawayers are responsible for the meals of one chosen day. Just to give some time off to the residence's cook. All the meals are taken family style with full daily meals.
    Requirements are that workawayers are responsible for the cooking for one day a week for week-long stays. Dishwashing duties after the provided meals since we don't have a dishwasher.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are right in a middle of a medieval French town named Provins ranked as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On par with Grand Canyon and Angkor Wat. We are half way between Paris and Burgundy and between Paris and Champagne.
    The house itself is build on a monastery's ground from the 12th century which was destroyed during the French Revolution. The property still has medieval walls and underground tunnels which were said to lead templars 15 kms outside the fortified town.
    The proximity of Paris and its access is a hassle-free commute serviced by the Greater Paris train network called the "Transilien." Zone 5 on the train Pass. With trains leaving every hour from and to Paris, daily, weekly, or monthly, all trains/metros/buses passes are available at the station--a 20 minute walk through 'Ye Ole Town.'

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




N° de référence hôte : 366669161875