Live in Granada, Spain and volunteer at an English Kids Club

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 108 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.04.2018

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    509

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is a cosy and fun, where we prepare our little students do become independent learners, who later as an adult do not need constant support of a teacher to improve the language they wish to learn. Our teaching method focusses primarily on social skills, showing our students the ability to make use of every possibility and situation life offers them as a learning opportunity.

    Our sessions are very different from those at school. Each workshop is a new opportunity to learn new techniques to approach a language and acquire new knowledge in a fun way, through small group activities, artistic workshops, handicraft, games and interactive sessions.
    The duration of each session is 90 minutes, workshops are conducted in reduced groups of 4-6 kids, allowing us to apply a fully personalised learning approach and to deepen language teaching in a fun way.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Aide avec les langues
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Your working language will be English with the kids and Spanish with your coworkers and with your direct boss. You will also communicate in Spanish with all the parents. You can get to know numerous Spanish families and their little ones, and you can get extensive experience in working with kids learning English as a foreign language.

    We are a Hungarian-Spanish couple, at home we speak Spanish but the two of us altogether speak Hungarian, Spanish, English, German and French, so you will have a wide range to choose from.
    Every two weeks we also have my boyfriend's 9 year-old daughter with us for a weekend, she speaks Spanish, English and French. You are more than welcome to participate any family activities we might organise, such as beach visit, family cooking, excursions to the beach, mountains.
    Given that we have a quite big Spanish family, you will be experience Mediterranean spirit and day to day Andalusian life.

    We start our days quite late, and it also means we finish late. Lunchtime is around 2pm. So don't be surprised :-) for me as a Hungarian it took some time to get used to it, but now I am happy living according to the Spanish rhythm.

    We both have traveled a lot, myself having visited 33 countries thanks to my job prior to moving to Spain 3 years ago. At that time whenever I could I used platforms through which I was able to sta, at local people's places, so that I get to knothe real local life.

    Since living in Granada i have been very active connecting locals and foreigners, thus I am leading a group called Language Encounters Granada, with 400 members (200 locals and 200 foreigners) meeting up on a regular basis for excursions, language exchange and other exciting programs.

    Our work also includes traveling through Andlausia, our last guest, who visied through a university program from France highlighted this as one of the best experiences she had with us. We took her for our events to Malaga, Marbella, Seville and Almeria, visiting major cities of the region and getting a real insight into local life.

    We are eager to host a person who is open to participate in all the above, is outgoing and enjoys connecting with members of an international crowd.

    See you soon :-)

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for a volunteer covering kids club sessions in English for kids between the age of 5 and 12 years for the period of September-December 2016.

    You need will to spend 90 minutes with each group (4-6 kids) and teach them English through creative activities. We possess a book store with books for kids of all ages in 4 languages, so you will have all the needed material at hand and can choose from more than 2500 different titles to work with, from baby books, through reading series and activity and science books.
    You will be expected to plan your lessons and conduct them, plus regularly give feedback to the director regarding children´s development, occasionally sharing it with parents as well.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English (native/bilingual), Spanish (at least basic level)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We provide you with a room with a sofa bed and a shared bathroom. You will have access to our high-speed WiFi, fridge, tea, coffee. We live near the center of the city, but with the calm atnosphere of a residential area.

    Shops, sports facilities are right at our buildings, some famous tapas bars, the riverside, and Granada centre at walking distance.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You are completely free to decide what to do in your free time, however we are more than happy to help with local advice.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 3 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 323834531747