Help with DIY, language practice and become part of the family in Chancenay, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 2 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.08.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Guy (56 years old) and Cécile (54 years old), a Belgian couple with 3 children (adults) who stayed in Belgium.
    One year ago, we decided to change our way of life and bought a great house (part for our home and a part for a future gite) in a great property of 5,5 ha.

    we are putting everything in place so that our house as well as the future cottage (that will be open begin 2022) operate only with natural resources (wood for heating, solar panels, hydraulic and wind turbines for electricity, animals and vegetable garden for food). The site has been uninhabited for several years and there are a lot of things to do : chop wood, vegetable garden, DIY, participating in house’s life (cooking, cleaning, painting, ..) + new environmentally friendly projects.

    We are about 10 minutes walk from the Chancenay’s village, 5 km far from St Dizier’s town, medium size-city with a lot of shops, restaurants and bars, 25 km from the lake of the Der (nautical sports, walks, bike rides...) and our own bikes are available.

    We are also 75 km far away from Verdun (war 1914-18), about 100 km from Reims and Epernay (Champagne), 250 km far from Paris (accessible by train), …

    We have 2 nice dogs : Shi-tzu and Beagle (young and fiery).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The workawayer will be accompanied in his work, will share our daily life and participate in our activities on the site and outside.
    We would like to host a helper from an English speaking country so that we can practice the language.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have some professionnals working on the main renovations but we try to do as much as we can ourselves and we would like to have one or two volunteers to help with the daily running.

    We are looking for volunteer(s) willing to help out with a wide variety of tasks as :
    - moving the surroundings,
    - maintaining the pool,
    - choping wood,
    - working around the Ornel's stream (digging, clearing, ...),
    - DIY
    - painting bedrooms,
    - cleaning and repairing old French stone walls,
    - etc.
    We have the right equipment : tractor (with wood splitter and mover), excavator, scaffolding, ...

    We would particulary like volunteers who are able yo handle medium-heavy physical work.
    You will not be asked to use any dangerous machinery or do anything skilled that you 're not trained to do.

    Workawayers will be expected to help out with cooking and clearing up after meals as part of living in a family.

    We are Belgian speaking French.
    We want to welcome volunteers whose are fluent in English so we can improve our own English.

    The place where we live is very quite.
    If you're looking for somewhere to be peaceful in your time off - maybe do some painting or reading or just watching the birds and listening the water - then you will be in paradise.

    We would like you to feel part of the family, eat together and enyoy sitting and talking (wish but no obligation).

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We would like to improve our English speaking.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Bedroom with 2 single beds for 2 boys or a couple, private bathroom.
    Common meal with us.
    Breakfast around 8 a.m.
    Start of the working day around 9 a.m.
    Midday meal around 12:30 p.m.
    Evening meal around 7 p.m.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    During their time off, helpers can take advantage of the beautiful surrounding nature in the property, they can walk, swim or rest.
    They can also easily go to the nearest town for shopping or to go to the museum (foundry, ornithology).
    They can, by bike, go to the Lac du Der where possiblites of water sports, walking or nature.

    Internet access (wifi) is illimitated and of good quality.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 286757923865