Help a growing family in small historic city of Key West, Florida, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 205 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    994

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three, expecting a fourth in late May. Arlo is a writer and director of a literary organization; Ashley is a yoga teacher and partner in a gallery specializing in tribal Persian rugs; Aviva will turn three years old this summer, soon after her baby sister is born. We also have a small, lovable dog named Kenji. We live in Key West, Florida, a small, subtropical island-city of five square miles with a year-round population of 30,000 people.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Key West is a small historic city, with distinctive 19th-century architecture, rich literary history, and a subtropical climate. Travelers who are interested in literature or the arts may find much to learn from Aviva's parents. Arlo is director of a nonprofit literary organization, a publisher (including translations of Argentine writers), author, and historian. Aviva's mother, Ashley, offers 15 years of experience as a yoga teacher and is an expert in contemporary tribal Persian rugs and west African artifacts. We have lots of books and art in our small home and enjoy listening to all kinds of music.

    Key West is different than anywhere else in the US; it is a small island surrounded by water, closer to Cuba than to Miami (a four-hour drive across 150 bridges), with a climate and landscape that is more like the Caribbean than most of the US. It is a popular tourist destination, especially in the winter months, although summer months are less busy. In the summer months, you can expect fresh mangos, starfruits, and bananas from our fruit trees; and occasional fresh fish from our fishermen friends.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are seeking a friendly, caring person to help manage the demands of a three-year-old and her new baby sister. We're looking for someone who can help watch our daughters, walk our dog, and help with household chores including preparing meals, cleaning up, shopping for groceries, and doing laundry.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A private room, with shared bathroom and kitchen, is provided at the house of our daughters' grandparents, one block away from our house. (Grampa Bill is an architect and sailor, who operates two historic wooden sailboats with his son; Omi is a retired arts administrator, educator, and yoga instructor.) We live in Key West's "old town" neighborhood -- a very walkable and bike-friendly location. All meals are included; you will join us at our home for many meals (sometimes you will help prepare the meal); others will be on your own time.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Beaches, snorkeling, bicycling, .... more to come...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 266912521513