We live a relaxed life and we’d appreciate help with maintenance/eco-gardening/teaching English in Netherlands

Country

Pays-Bas

Enregistré comme favori 27 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Meindert and Willemientje) are a “young” semi-retired couple with a foster child of 12. Meindert sometimes teaches economics at a high school and Willemientje teaches full time at a primary school. We both have adult children who live all over the world but we have a foster child Mike who is 12 years old. He loves to inprove on his chess playing and perhaps learn to speak some better English. We have a Border Collie (Polly) who endlessly fetches tennis balls and 2 cats who spend most days just sleeping.
    Around 3 years ago we purchased our 100 year old dilapidated farmhouse plus some land and so far we put in a lot of time and energy making it a cozy insulated home.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We ourselves have lived abroad for quite some years and have been exposed to other cultures. We have been enriched with hospitality in many places and we both would love to exchange idea's and learn about other people’s background, culture, beliefs and experiences.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The work (insulation and restoration back to original) on the farmhouse itself is ongoing, the roughly 5000 m2 garden has grown organically and is already a beauty with fruit trees, a variety of flowers, bushes, a fishpond, a rose garden and a vegetable garden. We don’t use synthetic fertilizer or pesticides. The plan is to also develop our adjacent piece of land to a true nature’s garden.
    We live a relaxed life and we’d appreciate help from work-away’ers who have some affinity with general maintenance (carpentry, painting, masonry work), with eco-gardening and possibly with teaching our foster child some English.
    We'd prefer a couple or 2 friends and we expect you to take responsibility for yourself and your work. This area has no swinging nightclubs but the tranquility and charm of a beautiful rural area.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Nederlands, English (near-fluent, Meindert spent 20 years in Southern Africa), ein bisschen Deutsch, un petit peu Français y poco Español

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We are a non-smoking house and we can accommodate a 2 guests in separate, pleasant and newly built wooden bedrooms on the first floor of the barn. That floor has plenty room. Two friends or a couple of 25/35 year old is what we’d ideally be looking for.
    The accommodation has a partly shared bathroom. (foster child Mike uses this at night) and an own small separate kitchen and fridge.
    This floor has indoor access to the main house but also a separate staircase leading to outside.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The nearby village Hengelo (not the town Hengelo which is located elsewhere) is 5 minutes by bike, has 8000 inhabitants and is situated between the towns Zutphen and Doetinchem in the province of Gelderland. It houses many shops, a fitness centre, tennis courts, library, outdoor swimming pool, restaurants.
    There are nearby forests and the bigger city Arnhem can be reached within an hour by bus and train.
    Further away (1,5 hour travelling) is Utrecht.
    We have a number of bicycles to choose from.
    Our guests may (at times) assist with preparing meals and are part of the family. If you play the piano you’d be invited to use it and you’d be free to use the pooltable (snookertable) in the barn. We do have television which we do not watch too often. If we’d go for some cultural activity our guests would join us. Weather permitting we’d have a BBQ on weekends and yes we do have Wifi.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 242312245573