Come to the beautiful Highlands of Scotland and help us finish renovating a barn into a home, Alness, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 162 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.11.2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Matt and Imogen who have two young sons. We are a busy, sociable family living in the Highlands of Scotland. We moved here 14 years ago and feel very lucky to have found our 'home' here in the Highland countryside. We are the the 'final' stages of renovating an old barn to make it into a home. Most of the house is complete which we live in but there is still the final section of house to complete. we live 250 metres up in the hills and therefore enjoy some amazing views.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a small vibrant community and we have a good network of friends and neighbours who will no doubt add to the volunteers cultural experience! The Highlands has a good friendly vibe and there is always something going on to get involved with. Our local village hall has plenty of interesting events on such as ceilidh dancing or theatre.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help us to complete our home and garden. There are a variety of projects that we would like to work on this year. It would be great if someone had experience of building stone walls and/or DIY. We also need help in the garden with preparing and keeping on top of the vegetable beds. We would also like to finish off the landscaping in the garden and area surrounding the house so if anyone has experience of driving diggers that would be helpful. But really we are looking for people who are willing to get stuck in and be open to learning no matter what their skills. Matt can teach you most of the building tasks!!! As we both Matt and myself work we have found that it works out better if we have couples, families or volunteers travelling together to keep each other company whilst we are at work. We intend to take holiday during July and August which is when we hope to get stuck into the stone work.
    Projects and tasks include:
    - help with building the traditional stones walls of our house - moving stones, mixing cement
    - gardening - planting vegetables, fruit, weeding, mowing the grass, strumming
    - installing a outdoor hot tub - heated with Fire
    - clearing and sorting in the old barn
    - hedge planting
    - helping out with the children - baby sitting, playing, crafting, den making
    - help with cooking meals

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    French: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have 2 double bedrooms on the ground floor of our house which share a bathroom. Volunteers will help themselves to breakfast and lunch each day. We will either cook the evening meal or provide food for volunteers to make their own.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live 5 miles from Alness town which has shops, pubs, cafes, bank, leisure centre and transport links. We can provide lifts into town and possibly Inverness/surrounding area when we are passing. If you like the outdoors this is the place for you - we have woods right on our doorstep to run or walk in either in the mornings or evenings. We have a bike that volunteers can borrow to explore the local area. If you like the outdoors this is a great base as It doesn't take long to get to the mountains, sea or rivers from here. We would be only too happy to show volunteers around when we get the time. You can also learn Argentine Tango!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 223962271252