Join our family and help with projects based on sustainability and low impact living, on the Isle of Wight, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 67 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are based on the beautiful southern tip of the Isle of Wight within close proximity of the well known St Catherines Lighthouse and the village of Niton. We have a lovely plot of land that stretches all the way down to the beach, with spectacular uninterrupted sea views. The area we live in is badly affected by landslide and a large part of the land has suffered from land movement. In 2014 there was a catastrophic fire that destroyed the large house that had been our family home. Unfortunately there was no insurance payout to be had. This has brought about a completely fresh start for a more simpler way of life, building a life here once again from the bottom up. Since the fire I have returned to the Island to care for this rather special piece of land. We have no "large plan", but rather work from a day to day approach of tackling what needs to be done each day at a time, and there is no shortage of tasks and projects to undertake. Our household consist of myself (Russell), Steph my partner and our young daughter, Amara. We hold values of sustainability and low impact living, and are inspired by permaculture principles. We are laid back peaceful people and value the simple things in life, such as yoga and meditation, sitting around fires and going on walks. However with a young child and the demands of life, work and continuing to do things at home, life can be quite busy recently. While we are now welcoming a new beginning here, there is still plenty of the past to be dealt with and cleared, alongside managing and maintaining the land and gardens, and these are the majority of the tasks we are welcoming help with.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I spent many years travelling, working, volunteering and living in different countries and cultures, and highly value meeting people from other backgrounds. I think workaway offers you a great opportunity to meet people from a different culture and upbringing than our own and grow and develop by experience other aspects of life than that we have been exposed to. You are likely to learn aspect of building and land management as well as basic food growing. I am a carpenter and you be involved in various different aspect helping us develop our land and life here. We are a family with a young child so you will be exposed to family life here as well.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Most of the help asked is somewhat physical. We are flexible as to what projects you choose to get involved in depending upon your skill set and the time at which you visit. There may be times when there is a project to help me with such as putting up a fence. We encourage people to be self motivated and to enjoy what it is you want to help out with.
    The main ongoing tasks to be done are, clearing the land and shifting stuff. Gardening, mostly strimming, hedge cutting and mowing the lawn. Making fires. Some walls to be re pointed and repaired. building compost bins. Other general maintenance around the site. Because of the nature of the help, it would be great if you had a skill or experience that you could put to use here such as with cement/lime, basic DIY and woodwork, growing fruit and vegetables or experience with garden machinery.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a caravan on the land that you can stay in with basic amenities, so you can make tea and basic meals for yourself if you wish. We have a communal shower/toilet, and a communal food preparation area. In the summer months we have bell tents that can be put up in the garden. In colder months you can have a room inside with us and share facilities.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The village of Niton is 10 minutes walk, where there is a post office, shop, and library. There are 2 pubs in walking distance. Ventnor is 10 mins by bus or a 1 hour walk, where there are plenty more amenities. The south coast of the island is a magic place to explore with beautiful nature and stunning views. It's a perfect area to go on walks. We both drive and can help with lifts when possible to get about. There are fantastic beaches within easy walking distance. I have basic fishing gear your welcome to borrow. The rest of the beautiful sights of the Island can be explored by bus.
    We do not have many rules, but just ask people that stay with us to be considerate and speak openly about any issues. People that are responsible, self motivated, independent, open, enjoy a challenge and getting stuck in and with a good sense of humor will sync perfectly into life here. Because of the nature of the place, it takes a person with a little bit of laid back approach to life. We can not offer what is most commonly known as 5* accommodation, but we do offer a 5* experience for the right people. Basic needs will be met. We are both vegetarian, so will cook vegetarian meals. You are welcome to buy meat if you choose to cook. We don't smoke, but hold no judgments if you do. Unfortunately we can not accommodate people staying with dogs.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Campervan and smaller sized motorhomes.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 148426845113