Mia

  • Australia
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

  • Descripción

    Hello!
    My name is Mia.
    My #1 travel essential is an open mind and open heart. To me, cultural immersion means forgetting everything I know to completely open myself up to new people, new places, new sights, sounds, tastes and feelings.
    I am super excited to try new things, particularly new food! Strong flavours and tasty food lights me up on the inside and it would be an honour to cook with local people wherever I get the opportunity.
    I have a fascination with the natural environment, particularly birds. I enjoy spending time outdoors, exploring, hiking, wildlife watching, and admiring the natural history of everywhere I go.
    I have recently completed my studies in environmental science and am willing to share my skills and knowledge and continue to be a lifelong student. I am most engaged when I am learning new skills and I am motivated by various collaborative opportunities with a diversity of people. I consider myself a global citizen and I am looking to live and learn about our world.
    I am lucky enough to have travelled to Thailand, China, Borneo and New Zealand where I have had many opportunities to connect and engage with local and indigenous people. In China I helped local students at a University with their English studies, in Borneo I engaged in many interviews with indigenous people with a focus on environmental management and cultural histories, and in New Zealand, I learned from local and indigenous people about native plant cultivation, seed collection and broad-scale landscape management for sustainable farming practices.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Escritura
    Música
    Astronomía
    Cocina y alimentación
    Cultura
    Historia

    mostrar más
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I am excited to be learning Spanish. I only know very little Spanish at this stage, but hopefully, by the time we meet, I will be able to hold a conversation! Hago mi mejor :) I am willing to teach English also, with the Aussie accent of course!

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Idiomas
    Vida en una granja
    Enseñanza
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    General skills and experience:
    - have worked 10 years in hospitality and have excellent customer service with training experience and leadership roles, hosting children's parties
    - cooking (love it! and keen to learn more)
    - general cleaning
    - experience in babysitting and child care/ creative play
    - willing to teach English (have not yet experienced it, but want to try!)

    Not only have I completed two degrees in environmental management and sustainability, but I have also volunteered my time on many environmental and community projects developing a range of skills such as:
    - tree planting
    - home gardening
    - weed removal
    - natural vegetation maintenance
    - plant and bird identification
    - seed collection
    - some experience in sustainability consulting

    Throughout my studies, I have developed a range of other skills such as:
    - digital literacy
    - strong teamwork and communication skills
    - leadership and project management experience
    - research and scientific report writing

  • Edad

    26

  • Algo más...

    I hope to find a Workaway experience where I can immerse myself in local culture, connect with local people and learn the language. I am looking forward to cultural and language exchange.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      codeine

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios