Kortney

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    02/09/2021 - 21/12/2021

  • Medallas

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mi situación

    viajando


    I'm currently in New Mexico, and I'm looking to land anywhere between here and the Pacific NW this fall. I'm looking for something off grid, sustainable, and outdoorsy.

  • Descripción

    Hi there, I am currently seeking out semi-long term, 1-3 month opportunities to live and work on a farm or household in order to acquire new skills and experiences that broaden my perspective and open my eyes to new ways of living. I left my three year teaching job in the summer of 2019, and I spent the fall of 2019 year traveling through Spain for three months, volunteering on a variety of farms, households, and organizations. In the beginning of 2020, I moved to New Mexico to do work exchange in various off grid communities. I have done all kinds of work trade, from nannying to construction to art to animal sitting to hosting classes. I found that I completely enjoy living the off grid homesteading life, no matter the work!

    Now, I’m looking for my next step and am hoping to stay in New Mexico or somewhere in the Pacific NW. I want to find a place where the host(s) is concerned with the health of individuals, communities, and the earth, where my energy and abilities can be put to good use, and where we can learn from each other. I have gathered some homesteading skills over the past few years, but I am eager to learn more about things like foraging, preserving food, off grid systems, solar cooking, animal husbandry, butchering, gardening, chopping wood, building/construction, and really any trade. I would prefer to talk on the phone before coming, to see if we are a good fit for each other.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Yoga / bienestar
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Libros
    Música
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Autodesarrollo
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    My experiences:
    - I worked for three years as a mentor and teacher at a middle and high school in Oklahoma City. I loved teaching, but I am wanting to try out other things for a change.
    - I worked for an organic farmer selling vegetables at the farmer’s market and loved displaying the vegetables, having good conversations with customers, and making sales.
    - I volunteered at four different locations in Spain, each for about two weeks, where I worked in planting, maintaining, harvesting, and selling organic vegetables, as well as housekeeping (cleaning and cooking), animal care, general property maintenance, trail clearing, and translation.
    - I did a three month work exchange in NM, mainly childcare, cooking for groups, and cleaning. I’ve work traded for other moms, nannying and cleaning/organizing in exchange for room/board. I love to be around kids!
    - I have participated in several short term work trades throughout New Mexico and Colorado, anything from a few days to a month. The work varied from building an earth bag home to hosting craniosacral therapy courses to growing food in an earthship, and more.
    - I also practice craniosacral body work therapy and am more than happy to share that with my host(s).

    My interests:
    - I would like to learn more about sustainable agriculture, permaculture, and organic growing, and anything else along those lines. I’m passionate about connecting to the earth and thus connecting to the source of our food, as I believe this connection changes how we view ourselves, others, and the earth.
    - I am passionate about cooking and sharing meals and sharing life with others. Good food and good conversations are my bread and wine.
    - I love cleaning and organizing, or finding new efficient systems, and I love to share those skills with my hosts. I think it is important to treat our things well, with dignity and care.
    - I love learning new ways to live simply and sustainably while reducing the amount of waste produced.
    - I enjoy outdoor adventuring, such as trail running, backpacking, hiking, swimming, and rock climbing, and I want to be in a place where these are available nearby.
    - I also enjoy practicing yoga, practicing meditation, reading, writing poetry, playing music, painting, and sketching.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Edad

    25

  • Nacionalidad

    USA

  • Algo más...

    I am a social person who loves to connect with people and learn their stories. I am interested in many topics and so I can have a conversation with nearly anyone about nearly anything! I also immensely enjoy the peace and stillness of solitude, especially solitude in nature, and I often seek out opportunities to do things alone for the sake of my inner health.

    I’ve lived as a member of an intentional community for two and a half years. I learned many things about myself and how to rest well, and also how to do life with a group of people and to live in harmony with them, even when we disagree. I have been able to take what I learned and apply it in many other communities as I have been travelling, as well.

    The school I worked at for three years was created to reimagine the education system for students in Oklahoma City. The school was relationally- and community-focused, with emphasis on social justice. I taught courses in mathematics, English, science, community engagement, and gardening, along with mentoring a group of six young women.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      I eat everything, provided it is good quality. Typically I eat meat very rarely because I don't have regular access to good quality local meats.

Fotos

Comentarios