Ekanem

  • Portugal
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

Amigos (3)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Actividades que me interesan:

    Organic vegetable fruit herb and tree gardening; sheep and goat farming

  • Descripción

    I am an experienced gardener with some permaculture experience, including planning, tending compost, clearing and preparing beds, planting, cultivating, watering harvesting, and seed saving. I have dreams of starting my own farm in the next 2 years.

    Most of my experience was in sub-tropical (zone 9) areas but I also have experience in more zone 5 (midwestern USA and Sweden). I've also completed an Urban Harvest course, SO.6/08/10 - Starting an Outdoor Classroom. They taught us to plan a gardening site, enlist administrative and community support, find funding, and apply gardening skills to academic subjects for kids.

    I was a volunteer plot gardener at the Meredith Gardens of Urban Harvest of Houston, Texas for 7 years, 2003-2010. My bed there flourished with vegetables, herbs, and flowers

    In 2015 I also worked at Common Ground in New Orleans Louisiana's wetlands relief nursery, doing mostly tree planting and watering and cultivation of first-growth plants.

    I was a volunteer worker at Horta Baldio, a mixed trad and permaculture urban farm in Lisbon, Portugal from 2016-2017. (https://hortafcul.wixsite.com/home/horta-do-baldio).

    Also - I love cats!

    Why am I traveling? To challenge myself in diverse farming styles, meet people from all over the world, spend time in nature, hopefully find some people to sing with and cook with!

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Ciclismo
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Artes escénicas
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Jardinería
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Gardening: Planting, cultivating, watering, clearing and preparing beds, tending compost, harvesting, and seed saving. Over 10 years experience in urban farms and rural farms.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Intermedio

  • Edad

    45

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Tree nuts

    • Dieta especial
      Intolerant to wheat and other gluten-containing grains but I love all other foods (fruits veggies fish meat etc)

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios