gaildwyman

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/06/2021 - 31/08/2021

  • Medallas

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    Hello future host,
    I LOVE travel and I LOVE meeting new people and seeing new places. I have been a travel host with an organization called Servas, and for the first time got to experience it as a TRAVELER. I bought an old VW Eurovan and traveled across the United States by myself, camping, staying with friends and family and met and stayed with 17 Servas hosts throughout my trip. It was a wonderful experience, a bucket list to do, and now I wish to travel to other destinations through Workaway. I thought it would be great however, to stay with host for longer periods of time then just 1-2 days as I have done through Servas. This will give me the opportunity to truly experience the culture, food, the land and it's people. I spent 2/1/2 months in Italy with several different families and LOVED it in 2019, volunteering through Workaway.
    I want to do as much traveling as I can. I am well diverse in work experience, have much energy, am eager to try most things and am a team player. I have owned my own businesses and have a medical background as a nurse. I love to cook, clean, organize, teach new things to people, and am very much a people person, although I equally enjoy my alone time. I'd like to think that I would be a great asset to you, your family and your business, should you own one! I am happy to provide whatever you might need in your consideration of hosting me. Please feel free to reach out to me.

  • Intereses

    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Libros
    Películas y televisión

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    As mentioned in my introduction, I have many skills to offer in way of work. I am a nurse with many years of experience in the field. I have owned a decorating/organizing business and a men's hair salon. I have been in the retail, hospitality business, have worked at a B&B, just to name a few other areas of expertise. I love to keep a clean home, de-clutter, cook. I also enjoy the company of children and have assisted at a childcare center and have provided childcare services for families and the elderly.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

  • Edad

    64

  • Nacionalidad

    Franco-American

  • Algo más...

    My first love is TRAVEL!! I am a recently retired nurse. Locally, I love the beaches and woods in Maine, love to camp, dance, dine out with family & friends and cook. I enjoy playing scrabble with friends or on my phone and crosswords when I have down time and make puzzles with my elderly mother. I enjoy a good book and love to watch documentaries. I love to make scrapbooks for loved ones and individuals who are ill. I come from a Franco-American family, have siblings and one adult daughter.
    Currently, I am a volunteer with Make-a-Wish as a wish grantor and the Red Cross, working at Blood Drives and getting prepared to train in Disaster Relief. I have been on a mission trip to Puerto Rico and have helped out with other local missions in times of crisis. I also belong to SERVAS, where I have hosted travelers, and Hour Exchange Portland which is a community based program where people offer their skills and services for the exchange of time only, no money! I have worked with Hospice for end of life care. I am eager to learn new languages and share stories of my travel with others and to hear their stories as well.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Cats, if I touch them or am surrounded by cat hair on furnishings

    • Dieta especial
      Became vegan in December of 2020, I do not have a problem with meat or dairy but prefer to abstain when possible.

Fotos

Comentarios