Alex

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amigos (1)

El perfil está conectado a

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Hello! I'm Alex and absolutely adore travelling, cooking, gardening, activism, meeting new people, and being outside. I recently graduated uni having studied history and law in Paris. Having spent the last three years in Paris I am ready for my next adventure!

    I am originally from the US in Virginia near Washington DC. I lived in China for several years with my family which was where my travelling passion began. I grew up in a home that really valued learning and sharing new experiences. After school I set off for six months travelling by myself, first to New Zealand where I worked at a sheep farm, then to Nepal where I completed the Everest Basecamp trek, and then to the Balkans where I volunteered at a music festival.

    What I am most passionate is social justice, particularly food and gender justice. Since I was a kid I helped my parents in the garden, which later translated to volunteering at local community farms in the DC area where I helped with farm tasks as well as teach kids about sustainable agriculture. I want people to be reconnected to the earth, to their cultures, and to their bodies. I believe there is no better way than through food. There is nothing that brings me more happiness than learning from local communities about their practices (particularly growing and feeding ones) and how they connect with the planet. I believe we have so much to learn from one another. I am also quite active in other social justice issues, especially feminism. I helped found a feminist club at my uni where we led events that focused on an array of subjects from veganism to sexual education to the environment. We wanted to understand how everything intersects with feminism and other social justice issues. This club is my greatest accomplishment. Activism is something that motivates me everyday and helped me through this past challenging year and a half with Covid.

    I look forward to the future opportunities on here as each place and host seems to have so much to offer. I love alternative ways of travelling and believe this is the perfect place for that!

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de invierno
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Libros

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Práctica de idiomas
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Jardinería
    Enseñanza
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Trabajo de caridad

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I have worked on several farms and gardens. I have done work like weeding, harvesting, managing compost systems, and other labor intensive farm tasks (really whatever the farmers tell me to do). I also volunteered on an animal farm where I helped take care of geese, pigs, rabbits, horses, and chickens. I love animals and feel generally quite comfortable around them.

    I love, love, love to cook so I am happy to help in the kitchen. I am mainly vegan so everything I cook is vegetable focused. I have even led a cooking class for kids, so I have some experience with teaching as well as I was a sailing instructor at a summer camp. I truly adore children and get along with them very well.

    Currently, I work for an NGO overseeing their communications. I have served as the Communications Director for my university for the student body. I have experience with researching, writing, and creating content if you need help with any of those areas.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I have experience with kids teaching/tutoring English in Paris for the past several years. I am happy to help with your English. I love learning languages so a language exchange is right up my alley. Currently, I am learning Spanish as I plan on going to South America in January. I love speaking French too and am always looking for someone to practice with.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    23

  • Algo más...

    Let's see...in my free time I love to explore new music! I know everyone says this but I truly love all types of music (rock, psychedelic, folk, rap, electronic, samba, alternative, etc). I love finding new artists that I have never heard of. Big fan of reading. I have been on a memoir kick recently, but I love non-fiction books that are either historical or social justice related, better yet historical fiction! My favourite books would have to be Just Kids and anything by Vandana Shiva. I ride my bike everywhere and when I am at home I enjoy going hiking and camping (backpacking is even better).

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Vegan

Comentarios


Amigos

Comentarios