Aaron

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    15/02/2021 - 01/05/2021

  • Medallas

    Good Workawayer

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    Hi! My name is Aaron and I’m from San Francisco, California. I’m a university student looking to take a break from online classes and their burdens by reconnecting with nature and discovering new ways of life and people. I’m adventurous, easygoing, and excited to learn new skills.

    I absolutely love anything related to the outdoors. In California I spend most of my free time hiking, although I also really enjoy biking, surfing, and camping. I’ll never say no to an outing with others, rain or shine.

    After spending the majority of 2020 taking classes online from home, I decided that I needed to live a more balanced lifestyle in the new year. Workaway represented an ideal opportunity to reconnect with others during a time where we’ve been so separate. I'm very interested in using my passion for the outdoors to help with gardening and restoration work, grounds and property maintenance, construction work, and any other tasks in a new environment with access to nature. I’ve always been curious about living in a new place with people that have a different way of life than my own. Staying in San Francisco for most of my life, I haven't had opportunities like these before. Hopefully I will have the chance to do so this semester and learn lessons that will guide me throughout the rest of my life.

    I’m aware that covid has made work exchanges extremely difficult. Please know that I take the virus very seriously, and that I will follow to the letter any virus practices that you would like to implement. My goal as a workawayer is to learn more about others and myself through meaningful exchange. If I stay with you I’m more than happy to avoid travel and socializing as much as you would like.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Animales
    Libros
    Política / justicia social
    Historia
    Autodesarrollo
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Compañía para ancianos
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    My skills are mainly based around the outdoors and general maintenance. For the past 4 years I’ve volunteered for the U.S. National Park Service doing maintenance and habitat restoration work around San Francisco. This entailed clearing old trails of vegetation and creating new ones, cutting back hedges, mulching, and significant amounts of weeding and planting native species.

    Additionally, I’ve worked on numerous maintenance and improvement projects throughout my family's almost 100 year old home in San Francisco. These tasks have included staining fences, chipping paint off of and power washing structures, painting rooms, brick patio construction, path laying, and gardening in our backyard.

    I also worked at a local bakery this past summer, where I staffed the front counter selling baked goods and cleaning. Often responsible for closing down the bakery at the end of the day, I meticulously cleaned and sanitized work surfaces while also ensuring food safety standards were met. Of equal significance, I expanded my customer service skills and discovered a passion for learning about other people’s lives.

    Most importantly, I’m extremely willing to learn new skills and am a very quick study. Throughout all of my past work experiences my supervisors have always noted how eager and happy I was to assist with any task, no matter how small. If you need me to complete a job outside of my existing skill set, I will enthusiastically learn how to do it without hesitation.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    While language exchange isn't my focus as a workawayer, I'd be very excited to learn a new language if the opportunity exists.

  • Edad

    19

  • Algo más...

    I have a younger brother who I’ve always enjoyed babysitting and playing with. If there is a need for childcare I’d be happy to assist. I particularly enjoy card games, construction toys, and video games, although I am in desperate need of improving my drawing skills.

    Additionally, my family owns two cats, so I’m accustomed to having pets in a household. I have no allergies or dietary restrictions, and always love playing with others’ animals. I’m comfortable around farm animals and livestock, and am more than happy to help out with their care even though I don’t have direct experience in this field.

    If I’m not outside during my free time I enjoy reading and a good cup of tea. I’m a mix between an extrovert and introvert. I’m equally happy engaging with a group or working on my own.

    Finally, Badminton is my favorite sport. I’m always down for a game if you have the equipment.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      no

    • Dieta especial
      no

Fotos

Comentarios