Antonio

  • España
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Amigos (5)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Actividades que me interesan:

    Sailing, handworking, scuba diving, hiking, nature, tourism, languages

    Mi próximo destino:

    Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain - Desde Mar 2022 Hasta May 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    ME IN ONE SENTENCE: A seeker who loves the sea and the forest.

    THE TITLE OF MY LIFE: Journal of a sailor on land.

    THE SONG WHICH DEFINES MY LIFE NOW: The Light - SAILR

    MY AIM: to find sailboats and sea-related projects in which I can help, improve my sailing skills and grow as a person.

    WHO AM I?

    I'm Toni, an energetical and encouraging 33 years old Spanish guy who quit his job in 2021 and started traveling. When I was a child, I wanted to be a pirate, explore the world, have adventures, and visit as many islands as possible by boat. All these dreams vanished quickly when I accepted the have-to-be beliefs of our society.

    A BIT OF MY STORY

    In 2019, after a big and serious experience in my life, I realized that I wasn’t living the life I wanted to have, so I reconnected with my childhood passions: sailing and nature. I changed everything that made me hurt for experiences that made me grow.

    For one year and a half, I gained experience by sailing in a dam and in my seafaring hometown, studied to get the sailing license, devoured tons of books, documentaries and sailing content on the net, visited seafaring towns, shipyards and maritime museums, and got in touch with sailors to learn more about the sailor’s life. I also reconnected with nature, started to do hiking in the forest, learned yoga and meditation and get knowledge in personal development.

    With the passion for sailing by my side, I quitted my job as a translator in a company, left behind my life in Madrid and decided to start a new journey as a solo traveler…

    MY EXPERIENCES WHILE TRAVELING

    - Sailing, boat maintenance and housesitting in the mystical Galicia

    I spent one month with a captain in a little town by the sea. During this experience, I learned how to peel, polish and paint boats, helped with sailing tasks, set the sails and rigging, launched and retrieved boats and other working tasks. I also helped with other projects related to tourism by designing some brochures or managing a website. At home, I was in charge of cooking, cleaning and giving nice vibes to the place.

    - Helping animals affected by a volcano in La Palma

    During two intense weeks, I helped in an animal care organization taking care of dogs and cats affected by the volcano. My daily tasks were walking the dogs, cleaning the cages of dogs and cats, feeding the animals, cleaning the ash and offering positive vibes, specially to the people who lost their houses.

    - Experiencing the hotel industry and meeting people from everywhere in a hostel in La Palma

    Since December, I work as a volunteer in a hostel where travelers, hikers and people with many different stories and projects stay. I enjoy doing the typical tasks of cleaning, making beds and check-ins, but what makes the experience for me is meeting people from different parts of the globe, listening to their stories, being inspired by them, and opening my own mind.

    WHAT NOW

    After spending several months in La Palma, being motivated by its magical places, and hiking challenging trails, I decided to continue with sailing.

    Now, I’m looking for new sailing challenges, experiences on sailboats, volunteering in projects related to the sea and helping people who loves sailing and the ocean.

    WHICH ARE MY QUALITIES

    I speak Spanish, French, English and Dutch.
    I’m a good listener and observer shipboy.
    I’m a helper guy who likes that everyone feels comfortable.
    I'm an open-minded and very social person who loves to discover new points of view and cultures.
    I'm a curious and creative shipboy who loves to learn new skills and who have the passion for working with hands.
    I’m a big dreamer who tries to see the positive side and the learnings in every difficult situation.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Videografía
    Fotografía
    Astronomía

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    ⛵ SAILING SKILLS: I spent one year learning how to sail and passed an exam to obtain a license. Also, I stayed one month in Galicia and helped a captain in his sailing projects, cleaning and painting the boats, repairing little things, setting the sails and rigging, launching and retrieving the boats, manoeuvring and sailing.

    🔧 HANDWORK & GENERAL MAINTENANCE: I spent 1-month learning how to clean, sand and paint boats and furniture. Even if I don’t have relevant skills related to repairs, carpentry or electricity, my gift for hearing and fast learning will help me to get them easily. When I was a child, I was passionate about opening devices and trying to repair them, I enjoyed assembling miniatures, doing handcraft, and building wooden objects in high school. I have already a passion for working with my hands!

    🥘 COOKING: If you are not good at cooking or just need a hand in the kitchen, I love cooking (kind of mediation for me). My mother taught me traditional Spanish cuisine. Traveling around Europe and knowing people from anywhere in the world gave me the chance to discover new ways of cooking and ingredients. I just added my own healthy touch to all this!

    📣 MARKETING AND COMMUNICATION: if you need help with social media and your website, I can offer my knowledge in digital marketing and blogging (SEO, keywords, posts, etc). I've studied some courses in digital marketing and social media and I have some professional experience in the field.

    🎥 VIDEO RECORDING AND EDITING: I just bought an action cam and I’m learning to record and edit videos to create content. I can help you with your social media content and practice in exchange (not a professional yet!).

    🌍 LANGUAGES: I can help you with languages and understanding people from all around the world. I speak fluently 3 languages (Spanish, French, and English) and I have a medium level in Dutch. I can also do some translation work for your projects if you need so.

    🧘‍♂ PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT AND EMOTIONAL MANAGEMENT: after some hard experiences in my life, I started a path in self-knowledge by learning personal development skills, reading books about the field, and doing some workshops related to emotional management and business venture. If you are interested in knowing yourself better, I can share with you all the tools that helped me to grow as a person.

    👶 CHILDCARE: If you need some rest and chill, I can take care of your children. I'm a creative, imaginative, and funny person who has a good hand with children!

    🎸 MUSIC: If you are short of music in your boat, I sing (not bad, I guess) and I play the ukelele. What would a sunset be without music?

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    33

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios