• Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Top Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy


    Mi próximo destino:

    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hello - Richard and Poppy the small dog (clean, quiet / well behaved and chicken friendly) here.
    Please look at the pictures and feedback below our hosts have left us.
    I grew up in a horse owning country family and doing general farm work with machinery and animals on hill farms in the Eden Valley, Cumbria (I worked as a self employed sheep scanner/cattle foot trimmer after school) and from 2000 until mid 2015, after university, was a freelance Marine Biologist for 15 years working offshore around the world (mainly West Africa and Australia) on large oil exploration projects which proved challenging....Previously I worked with 'bycatch' (Dolphin / Albatross) issues on large factory freezer trawlers in the Atlantic and Antarctic. Now I am changing my life, away from the cold and rain and offshore work to one of joy and being with lovely like minded people in beautiful nature and hopefully harmony and connection.
    Work-wise I am very practical, efficient and need little supervision : growing up working on farms (general maintenance / construction, animal husbandry, stone-walling, fencing, machinery work etc.) and later working in industry.
    We seek joy through interaction and peace and nature and nice, positive, caring, proactive, organised and animal / nature loving hosts. I seek to exchange ideas and fun and to contribute and be close to nature in a quiet and environmentally and socially considerate and progressive environment.
    Poppy is my constant companion and a lovely and quiet half Patterdale terrier house dog (fully house trained, clean, always lives inside) who I rescued at 7 months - now she is 4 yrs old and perfectly behaved and clean. Some hosts are apprehensive to accept dogs and I fully understand why. However, all my hosts who were initially dubious of Poppy now love her little character.
    We have been in Spain / Portugal for over 2 years doing workaway !! Also in Nepalese mountain communities on Workaway projects and soon to be heading to Eastern Europe. I have been soaking up Permaculture and self sufficiency knowledge and loving working in organic gardens. We have been 'Workawaying' for 18 fulfilling months now - getting to know hosts and their contacts / area.
    I am very considerate, clean, tidy, efficient, autonomous, hardworking and punctual and am GREAT at landscaping, fixing and making / building things - Im a very good problem solver and am very proactive.
    I am allergic to Strimmers and Chainsaws.
    I am wildlife / nature and peace and quiet loving, easy to get on with (non-smoker / non drinker / non drug user) very social and humorous / fun and JOY loving and very considerate of others needs / space and am an excellent communicator. I have a strong work ethic (self-motivated and need little supervision) and am very fit, able and motivated.
    I speak basic Spanish - but communicate very well with it :)
    I am also very social (recently living in community in Scotland, Findhorn Foundation) and on all the varied 'Workaway' opportunities i have visited. I love to have fun and be around and help and to work with great and interesting and stimulating people.
    I have taught Tibetan refugees English in Dharamsala (also attended 'Tushita' meditation centre), NW India, have stayed at Plum village, Thich nhat hanh, practising mindfulness, Kopan monastery in Nepal, stayed at 'Nilambe' meditation centre, Sri Lanka, and also volunteering in the Organic gardens of the Findhorn Community for seven months which I found incredibly fulfilling and rewarding - I love gardening.
    I lived in SW Ireland for 10 years, surfing and travelling extensively during this time as well (mainly South and Central America) and am now looking around for an area to be my base.....Ireland is just too wet and cold :)
    I have a daily Yoga (when time allows) and meditation practice and wildlife, walking / hiking (I have just walked over the Pyrenees on the GR11), canoeing, nature, gardening and surfing are my passions.
    We seek to live in community with like minded people.
    We both look forward to meeting you very much and thank you for reading about us.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Gardening, Landscaping, basic construction, Fixing, wood chopping, organisation / logistics, animal husbandry, horses, surfing, archery, yoga, meditation, marine biology, driving, cooking, all things boats / fishing / diving.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Edad


  • Nacionalidad


  • Algo más...

    I'm autonomous, 100% honest, have complete integrity and am very considerate.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Cows milk

    • Dieta especial
      only no cows milk