Norah

  • España
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Explorer

Amigos (7)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Hola!

    Im Norah, a Celtic Spaniard with an Arabic name. I am coming back to workaway network as I am currently having some time off while I work remotely in building my Sustainable Tourism activity in Spain. I have been working for 7 years in the travel industry as a freelance contractor for several food and wine magazines, history and wine event organizers and workshop facilitator in order to create immersive travel a reality: I have an eye for detail and i am eager to create connections of avid travelers with the authentic artisans and creatives of rural Spain.


    I may provide work references from across different industries if you find it necessary. I always like to Skype call so we e-meet each other.

    You can look me up in the following websites

    - LinkedIn as Norah Piñeiro (Hospitality consultant, Entrepreneur and Travel curator)
    - Unsettled Barcelona (I was location manager and cultural events coordinator for 18 months)

    I am curious, chilled, love reading and writing, history of all things enchants me and I love a good chat.

    Let me know if you think we could be a fit!

    Best,

    Norah

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Dibujo y pintura
    Libros
    Música
    Fotografía
    Cocina y alimentación
    Política / justicia social
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos ecológicos

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Hola!

    Soy Norah. It is always hard to define ourselves, so the structure below will help us both with informations that tell about - until we meet !

    Things I know I can do because I've already done them different times before:


    1. Housesitting, animal and plant care:

    I have house-sitted in a farmhouse in Scotland for four weeks and in the island of Menorca for almost 8 weeks.
    The Scottish stay included taking care of daily walks in the fields for two horses, plus looking after the Border Collie, two cats and 20 hens =)

    The house in Menorca also had two dogs to walk daily and a fairly big garden to water and look after, plus collecting the vegetables and fruits from garden to transform in pickles and marmalades, jams etc. So good!


    2. English teaching and community management.

    I taught English to young students (aged 5-10) during high school

    2. Carpentry and Paint:

    Sanding , varnish and paint:
    Wooden boats
    Indoor galleries
    Coastal cottages
    English barns
    Scottish conservatories

    I also love painting and contributing to interior and outdoor design planning.


    3. Gardens :

    I love plants, forests and everything to do with them. I worked 2 intensive months in a large vegetable garden in Cadiz, specialized in aromatic herbs. I workaway'd in orchards with 1000+ trees in Malaga, Cordoba and other Andalucían towns

    I take care of plants as if they were parts of my self, and dream of soon have or grow an edible garden somewhere rustic and unspoilt


    4. Kitchen, Cooking and Planning

    There is not one cell of me that does not resonate with what a kitchen symbolizes. It is far beyond from eating or enjoying flavors; since I’m a kid my parents gave me the notion of transformation of the source to nourish my body and mind; for them, as it became for me, it was caring for the economic system behind agriculture, port towns, and the hundreds of lives within that network.

    I love it all about cooking, hosting, being around a table, a pashmina in the grass or the back if a car while road tripping and eating goodies prepared at home.

    I can cook for many, have done big lunches and large dinners for 20+ (a while ago), and yes, many have asked why not owning a restaurant ... :)

    I enjoy the creative, improvisation behind having whatever and mixing it with the outcome that cultures, and reading, have given me through the years.

    My work has lately been (4 years, now on Covid19 pause) planning History & Gastronomy itineraries in rural areas of Catalonia, Euskadi and Galicia, boutique events with farmers and fishermen, showing the know-how, which is what we all need to appreciate more.


    5. Translating, proofreading and Language Support

    * I worked as Eng/Spa translator for different magazines before becoming fully freelance (2012-2015)
    * I helped translate websites, blogs, commercial leaflets and social content for two workaway hosts-owners of Hotels and boutique B&B
    * I have been an interpreter and simultaneous translator for foreign companies based in Barcelona


    6. People

    I have always been around people:

    * My family owned a hotel 10+ years and I was the kid/teenage PR. I like to think that they were the most free summers ever, spending them between beach and mountain with families from all over.

    * I took care of friends kids while they were on vacation and babysitted (never did it for money) because I adore children’s minds

    * I worked as Front Desk, Special Advisor for vips and Guest Relations for different years

    * I am a freelance in my field because I believe there is hope in the way people think of travel swifting global patterns affecting and dismantling economies and environments.


    In general:

    I am flexible, good listener and team person, prefer the outdoors and detail work, I love the sea more than I can express and hope to keep exploring paths that make me have less inner questions.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I would love to contribute to your learning of Spanish for sure =)

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    39

  • Nacionalidad

    Spanish

  • Algo más...

    I have a car and a lovely well-educated Border Collie female puppy with me, we travelled together to Menorca in May 2021. Looking forward to help, learn and contribute to local projects here :)

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Love all food!

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios