Mia & Carlos

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    España, Francia, Gran Bretaña, Grecia, Italia, Marruecos

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    20/06/2021 - 01/08/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Hi! We are a family of 4 traveling from Austin, Texas, United States. I (Mia, 25) work as a birth and postpartum doula and have just completed by BA in psychology/anthropology. Myself, my husband (Carlos, 28), and our two sons (ages 4& 6) are taking a gap year (or two) before I begin graduate school. We are taking this year to learn more about living sustainably, in connection with nature, and others. We are motivated by our desire to explore and learn through hands on work and cultural experience. For our children, we take an unschooling/world-schooling perspective and hope for them to explore and learn along with us and the people we stay with. As a family, we love hiking, fishing, singing, dancing, laughing, yoga, and learning through life. We prioritize respectful and open communication, compassion, and patience with each other as we grow/learn as individuals and as a family. Carlos and I are hardworking and adaptable people. Our desire is to give as much as possible to our hosts to cultivate a fruitful experience for everyone involved. We are used to working 40-60hrs/week here in the States and do not shy away from hard work. We are happy to help with any and all tasks. Our children are energetic and happy but respectful of boundaries and well-adjusted. They are known to spread joy wherever they go! They do not spend a lot of time on screens. Here in the States, they have attended a farm school for the last 2-3 years and are used to spending most of the time outside, helping with animals, and in the garden. They will be happiest exploring the land with other children and helping with the activities that they can. We would love to connect with hosts that share our values and are open to hosting our family of four. We would love to cultivate a relationship of high reciprocity- where are all give generously and create a positive and productive experience for all. We can't wait to meet you!

  • Intereses

    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Arquitectura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Libros
    Música
    Blogging

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Hostelería/turismo
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Mia- I currently work as a birth and postpartum doula. I have lots of knowledge of pregnancy, birth, the postpartum transition, breastfeeding, and attachment parenting (which I have gained through parenting experience and work). I also spent years working as a homeschooling nanny, as such I am very comfortable teaching and caring for children. I love to cook and am experienced with keeping a home. I am comfortable cleaning and helping with laundry. I also love to work with my hands and have experience gardening and volunteering on local urban farms (weeding, harvesting, compost, soil, pruning, etc). I have a love form renovating and home decorating. I am always happy to paint walls, help lay tile, decorate, etc. As a psychology/anthropology student, I love to talk and learn about local cultural practices. I love chats about philosophy, politics, culture, anything and everything! I am very social and love to engage with others. At home, I love to host friends and family.

    Carlos- He currently works as a restaurant manager. He has experience in some construction, building, etc. Experience comes from building/construction projects on our family land (demo, deck building, digging for irrigation, chopping, etc). He also has experience volunteering in our local farms. He is comfortable helping around the land, cooking, building, digging, etc. He is a great dad and great helping and playing with other children as well! He is the shy one of us both, but warms up and likes to engage with others too!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I am happy to teach and work with others English. We hope to expand our language skills and learn as much as possible while traveling.

  • Edad

    25 & 29

  • Algo más...

    We are both great at taking direction, like to work with others, but are also independent and comfortable just being given a task and doing it on our own. We are friendly, lively, and adaptable people! As long as there is love, communication, and good vibes we are happy to work in many different environments. We are also clean and are mindful about cleaning up our own messes. Ideally, we'd love to spend 3-6 hours a day/5 days a week working/helping keep up the home and have the rest of the time to visit with the families, explore the culture and nature. We love spending time with others, but also appreciate our own space from time to time.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Fotos

Comentarios