Richie

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Irlanda, Portugal

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/05/2020 - 31/05/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    720

  • Medallas

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Mi situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    I'm Richie and I love music, travel, learning, meeting people, stories, fun, socialising and THE SUN! My goal in life is build my sustainable living music and art therapy retreat complete with activities such as hiking, cycling and kayaking to name a few. I'm a musician and teacher and have spent time teaching English and music, as well as practicing music therapy in special schools and hospices.

    I'm just back in Ireland after 8 amazing months in Portugal where I've been absolutely blessed to still manage to volunteer and for some wonderful hosts and make lasting connections with them and fellow volunteers. My first was with a lovely couple from Cambridge and I helped them for one week (too short) to get their "no-dig" vegetable garden started. After that I had many places organised to visit for two weeks each.. but the lockdown started and I ended up spending nine weeks with Kes and Rick on their quinta near Fundão! It was amazing and I've done and learnt so much about hot composting, more no-dig experience, forest clearance, and renovation construction work. Since then I helped Igal in Vila Nova de Cerviera to renovate his artist residency, and then in Terras de Bouro with Tracey and Tonie helping them with all sorts of house and garden projects (including building a hen house!) I finished off at Marco and Maria's near Viseu for FIVE MONTHS where I helped build their family home in their gorgeous community there. Absolutely unforgettable.

    I moved to Lucca, Italia in 2017 because I have always been drawn towards the rustic countryside of Tuscana. In Lucca I was teaching music in a private bilingual primary school as well as English in two language high schools there. It was a fantastic experience but I needed a new challenge. I came to Italy to really immerse myself in the language, food, culture, and - of course - the people. I didn't really get that opportunity in Lucca because I had to always speak English. I am now learning Spanish and Portuguese. I have a great passion for learning and my main goal wherever I go is to really jump into a new life and work hard at it. I've been volunteering through WorkAway now since March 2018 (punctuated only by seasonal teaching work to keep the dream funds going) and it has been absolutely fantastic. I've definitely made some amazing connections with like-minded people and found the opportunities for integration I was after. I'd love that to continue! I've made many friends for life through this amazing tool for connection and sharing!

    I have lots of experience of hard work in construction and landscaping (construction and large scale land maintenance). However, my past experiences as a teacher in a special school for adolescents with special educational needs and autism, along with my roles, could be really beneficial to families who would like to improve their English language or music skills. I have lots of experience in teaching music and language in a fun and informal way. I love helping others. I love nature and I fell in love with Kent, UK when I came to Canterbury in 2011. I am used to the quiet life in the country but I am also used to being busy and working hard. I am very passionate about the environment and helping others, and one day hope to build a sustainable home where I can teach people skills and learn from them.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I am a musician (drums, guitar, vocals, some bass) and a teacher (music, English). I spent two years teaching in a special school in Kent, England for adolescents with autism and various learning difficulties. Through music and communication I helped them with their social skills, numeracy and literacy. It was a fantastic experience. Before that I worked many different jobs in construction (in Melbourne, Australia for two years), retail (sales and store room management) and hospitality (restaurant work and a host at a renowned hostel in Canterbury, Kent). I have been doing various projects through WorkAway such as bio construction, organic farming, landscape gardening and I can help with any general maintenance task, with tourists, with cleaning and preparing rooms, and with any outdoor gardening or farm work. I also have full TEFL accreditation.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Intermedio

  • Edad

    32

  • Nacionalidad

    Irish

  • Algo más...

    I have a degree in Music and Health Studies and my goal is to start my own community/retreat where people can bring and receive skills of all kinds and live sustainably. I am from the Republic of Ireland but I have travelled extensively around Europe and Australia. Last year I drove from Ireland to Istanbul in three amazing months with a good friend, stopping off in Germany, Italy and then all along the Balkans and finally in Turkey via Greece. I lived in England for 6 years where I have completed my degree and gained a lot of experience in a number of different roles. I am looking forward to my next chapter here in Ireland for the time being and I would be delighted to help and share in any way I can.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No

Fotos

Comentarios