Jacob

  • Australia
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Actividades que me interesan:

    mindfulness, self-inquiry, philosophy, some humans, all animals, nature, slow tea brewing/drinking, literature, mind altering experiences, bicycle touring, camping, cooking, u/frisbee, board games ~

  • Descripción

    In 2018 I'd quit my job (and urban living) and moved to Shaxi, a small idyllic village in the mountains of Yunnan China. I'd found a small courtyard and have lived there for over a year. It was the first time I'd experienced some kind of alternative living;. Shaxi is a lively village that is surrounded by beautiful nature, and living there was truly nourishing for the soul. I loved every moment of it. That experience had made me seriously contemplate what happiness means to me and what lifestyle fits me and what better way than to live with and learn from people who are further down the road?

    I'd built myself a campervan in 2020 and have been living on the road (mostly) for the past 18 months. I'd workawayed at several permactulure farms in Australia and one thing I have learned is that being around nature, a loving community, good healthy food, meaningful work, a bit of an adventure, and animals; all of these put a big smile on my face. But what I value most is to be engaged with what I am doing and to be intimately connected with the present moment.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Vida en autocaravana
    Trabajo de caridad
    Animales
    Libros
    Música
    Cocina y alimentación
    Autodesarrollo
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    It's not my primary goal but I'd always love to broaden my language skills. It is the window into a culture.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Idiomas
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Some skills/experiences of mine that may be relevant:

    - I'd workawayed at various permaculture farms around Australia so I have a fair bit of experience with life on a farm.

    - Through building my campervan I'd learnt a fair bit about carpentry and 12V electrical.

    - I'd designed my website on the WIX platform (https://write2jacob.wixsite.com/teaslowly)

    - During my time in Shaxi China, I'd co-designed the courtyard I'd rented with my partner and did what we could with the renovations (it was our first DIY experience). This ended up being a 3-months long project.

    - We ran an airbnb homestay along with a tea-drinking experience at the Shaxi property -
    https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/31836697?sharer_id=11313028&s=67&unique_share_id=41f00e1d-cd18-46f6-9dab-81b0b8cc706f

    - For most of my life I'd played the organiser role amongst peers and over the last 5 years I'd taken an interest in starting intentional communities. I'd been organising various community events in Shaxi and between 2015-2019, I was running an outdoors philosophy Meetup group with the intention of meeting other outliers like myself. This was both in Melbourne and China.

    - I am a pretty good problem solver.

    - I am good at teaching.

    - And I'd like to think I am a pretty fast learner, and can do most light/medium labour work. I do have a back issue that prevents me from doing heavy lifting.

  • Edad

    39

  • Algo más...

    I love...
    human connections
    solitude
    being around animals
    to cook
    to drink tea
    to read
    to practice the guitar
    being out in nature
    ultimate Frisbee
    tennis
    cycling and bike touring
    camping
    and surfing (though I am a total beginner)
    Party/Euro board games
    Psychology/Poker (I used to play professionally)

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios