Gillian & Roger

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Albania, Alemania, Chipre, Croacia, Dinamarca, Eslovenia, España, Estonia, Finlandia, Francia ... more

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    14/06/2021 - 15/08/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Our profile is continually evolving but here is some information so far.

    We are Roger and Gill, a slightly mature couple but with a young and inquisitive outlook on life. We would like to think that we are bright and fun-loving people and enjoy meeting up with a wide group of friends, even if we can't cope with the late nights anymore. We have successfully completed 6 ski seasons in the French and Austrian Alps where we ran catered chalets for 16 and 14 people in consecutive years providing housekeeping, cooking and general information services. We were out skiing the 250km of pistes in the range between shifts, working around the chalet commitments. We both enjoy outdoor life and working on the land, with people and with animals, and have had great times helping a friend on her small-holding and became a crucial part of her annual lambing team which added to the varied experience Gill gained as a WWOOFer some decades ago.

    We have looked after our own houses and gardens for many years so are familiar with all that involves, both routine and repairs (at which Roger is very handy) and have some experience of vegetable and fruit growing. Gill used to have quite a production line in action to use the harvest for chutneys, jams, curds, coulis, blackberry and damson liqueurs, as well as serving the veg on the table.

    We spent one summer - 5 months - on Workaway in Canada, improving our riding and horsemanship skills. We learnt Western riding technique and assisted with training of young horses. We helped prepare horses for lessons and trail rides as well as accompanying the lead on these excursions. We used horses to manage cattle, collecting, driving and cutting as required. We undertook routine care, mucking out, feeding, clearing pens and paddocks of fallen trees etc, mending fences and replacing posts, assisting farriers and monitoring general equine well-being. We used sit-on lawn-mowers, tractors, industrial strimmers, chain saws, pumps and compressors.

    We spent 5 months of 2016 in Australia helping out on isolated cattle stations, working the cattle on horseback as well as getting involved with training young horses. We even had some contact with friendly camels.

    In subsequent summers we have gained yachting qualifications and experience, including a number of yacht deliveries in the Mediterranean, Atlantic, Biscay and English coastal waters.

    We bring a mature, conscientious and reliable work ethic as the norm as well as a wide variety of experience. We held quite senior positions in responsible jobs for good a number of years in health care, education and private industry, Roger ran his own IT company for almost 25 years. We have decided to change direction in our lives to become more fulfilled by living, gaining experiences and meeting new people rather than acquiring material wealth. We can provide character and professional references as required.

    We enjoy being around family pets and have owned cats and dogs in the past. We miss them at the moment but circumstances don’t really lend themselves to having one or two.

    We will consider anywhere in the world and would hope for a minimum stay of a month in order to learn new skills and be able to become useful to our hosts.

    Thanks for looking at our profile.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de equipo
    Deportes de invierno
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Proyectos ecológicos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Gill has been qualified physiotherapist for 30 years and Roger has been working in IT and previously teaching. We have obtained our City and Guilds food Hygiene certificates after attending a chalet cookery course. We have also qualified in Teaching English as a Foreign Language.
    Roger has qualified as a costal skipper and Gill passed the Competent Crew course with the RYA in UK.
    We have many transferable skills from previous employment including:
    dealing with the public/customers
    organised
    self-motivated
    manage ourselves and others
    ability to learn
    teaching and training
    risk assessment including manual handling
    flexible and keen to learn

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Edad

    60 & 59

  • Nacionalidad

    British

  • Algo más...

    We have received our first covid vaccination, the second is due in early June.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      gluten

    • Dieta especial
      Gill is gluten-free and has managed her diet for over 40 years

Fotos

Comentarios