Aodhan

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Super Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Mi situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Oye!

    My full name is Aodhán Charles Ridenour, but a lot of people call me Chuck or Chuck-o-late (If you like something sweet ;)

    I heir from the river lands of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania U.S.A., where a Shire-like familiarity allows me to live comfortably in between globetrotting galavants.

    In 2017 I realized that I am fortunate enough to have close to zero "real-life responsibilities" (i.e. debt, dog, kids) and this freedom would likely not last forever. Thus, I left home and accidentally stayed gone for 11 months in South America. This allowed me to explore before I decided what I wanted to do. Now, I work in Pittsburgh as a handyman/writer and save money to go workaway several times a year. Gee thanks workaway.info!

    So far, the decision has proven positive and I'm continually excited to see what might come next -- our planet is infinitely more fascinating than I ever could have imagined.

    A few overarching values guide most of my decisions (Trustworthiness, Usefulness, and Kindness) which makes an overall direction possible without being too specific. Sometimes it works, sometimes I just go crazy, but looking back, yep, good times.

    All things considered I'd love to help, learn, and share wherever I can in whatever way possible. It's so awesome when an agreement or deal creates two (or more) happy parties.

    Thanks a Bazillion!
    Aodhán

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Agricultura
    Arte y diseño
    Dibujo y pintura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Compañía para ancianos
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Carpentry / Sustainable Construction / Remodeling : I owned and operated a general contracting company in the United States and specializes in full house remodels (flipping houses). We completely remodeled 3 houses and several other bathrooms and kitchens for clients. This business was awesome for a while, but became sort of unnecessary in my mind after a while (i.e. The old kitchen worked fine, but the client just wanted it to look prettier)
    I've volunteered on three separate farms focused on Permaculture Construction (Adobe, recycled glass, hay, onsite wood) and found those less environmentally impactful processes very interesting. I'd like to continue following the pioneers and someday start a project of my own one day.

    Since beginning my travels I've also learned a lot about semi-skilled woodworking and artistic craftsmanship. There are some pictures of my projects on my profile.

    Hospitality: Volunteered at two backpacker hostels, an Eco-lodge, a Rainforest Retreat Center, and one higher end ski lodge. The ski lodge operated a full restaurant and bar where I helped attend to guests.

    Cooking : Worked in two restaurants with catering companies while in the U.S. - serving, cooking, washing dishes, and deliveries. I enjoy experimenting with different cuisines such as vegetarian or vegan, but still love working with meat on. Recently got into baking bread and cakes for when that sweet tooth kicks in. Cooking is like freestyle music for me - use whatever you have and get tasty :)

    Farming : I worked on a farm in El Bolsón, AR where we made a few types of unique dulce (tomato?, yep it's rico), bread, and care for chickens (and a duck) when at home. Helped with a Permaculture food forest in the Madre de Dios Region of Peru and on a homestead in Puerto Rico last summer. Also spent about a month working with horses on a ranch in Limache Chile.

    Languages : I took classes en español while working in El Bolsón and after interacting with co-workers and locals for 11 months I can hold my own in conversation/reading/writing. Since the beginning of this year I've been living with native Peruvians in the Amazon speaking plenty of Spanish.

    Writing: I am a freelance writer for a community magazine in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (my home town). I write 3 articles a month for them, and am currently working on a novel for the sake of humanity.

    Audio: I am host/producer of THE NOMAD THEORY podcast and blog. Check it out on Spotify/Apple or thenomadtheory.simplecast.fm

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Edad

    26

  • Nacionalidad

    United States

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      Nope

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios