Lien

Desde: Bélgica

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Australia, Bélgica, India

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/02/2020 - 11/05/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Descripción

    Lets do this! After finishing my degree in economics, I decided it was time for something else. I wanted to see the world and get out of my comfort zone, just go crazy. Travelling with my sister in Australia seemed to do the trick.
    One of the most important things I learned while travelling is that I like getting involved in the local culture. Not to travel as a way of spending a holiday but really living my life while travelling.

    It also gave me a critical view on society and my own actions. Above all it gave me time to think what I really want to do. I became really interested in environmental problems but also self-development, mindfullness, meditation and yoga . A work away project that could give me some hands on experience within these interests would be lovely.

    In my own life I try to make a difference by eating vegetarian (I plan on a transition to vegan), donating money to charities and buying second hand and organic products as much as possible.

    My hobby's are walking out dogs, reading books (especially in a library), running, yoga, podcasts and thrift shopping.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Cuidado de ancianos
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Turismo
    Ayuda de caridad
    Ayuda con idiomas
    Projecto artístico
    Enseñar

  • Que habilidades tienes?

    My skills are a mixture of all my past projects. From studying books to a real hands on approach.
    I started already at a young age. As a kid I volunteered for Damiaanactie (Action Damien) selling pens door to door to raise money for people sick with leprosy, tuberculosis, and leishmaniosis. It costs 40 euro's to save one person, so at the end of the day I always counted how many people we saved.

    Later on I volunteered as a consultant at 180 degrees consulting. As a group of students we had one goal:
    "How can we help non-profits and social enterprises to overcome challenges they’re facing and have the greatest possible social impact?". For me it was a great opportunity to use my knowledge in practice.

    In Australia I worked and lived at an organic farm. Here I helped with weeding, harvesting, washing and packing veggies, planting seedlings and other general maintenance. It was the first time I was living out of the city and on the countryside and it made me appreciate nature and silence even more.

    In addition I lived with an australian family where I helped out with gardening, painting the house, general household and helping with the kids (and the dog, who received my special attention). This was an amazing experience I will never forget.

    Within the general field of economics, I specialize in statistics and macroeconomics. I try to answer questions like "what would a brexit cost?" or "how can we predict the exchange rate using data from the past?" by making computer simulations. (I am quite a nerd) Later on I would love to combine this skill with some environmental or mindfullness approach.

    In general I am comfortable to say that I have a wide range of skills. And what is even more important: I am keen on learning new things every day.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Dutch: Fluido

  • Edad

    25

  • Nacionalidad

    Belgium

  • Algo más...

    My travel plans:
    I am currently in Belgium, looking for a workaway experience before going back to Australia

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Vegetarian

Fotos

Comentarios