Bethany

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

El perfil está conectado a

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    New Zealand - Desde Oct 2022 Hasta Abr 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    I am a born explorer, I love nothing more than being outside in the outdoors and living naturally, embracing nature as it comes and truly living for what the world offers. I have always loved camping and hiking from a young age, with mountains almost like my second home now. I have been part of scouting my whole life, keen for helping others share my passion of adventure and lust for life.
    Adrenaline and thrill seeking have been part of my upbringing, with many energetic activities. I am also an admirer of the beauty and wonders of this world, with a perfect evening out in the open, watching the sunset and following it up with a fire under the stars.
    I like to look at life with a positive outlook, appreciating every moment of every single day and not taking anything for granted. I think happiness is so important, it is the reason we are here, to seek what makes us thrive in this world and not just exist. And I believe that this can be achieved in many situations in doing what we truly love, not through stuff or money. When we set ourselves goals and ambitions that fill our desires, we can truly be happy, and that is success. After losing my mum to a terminal illness at the age of 19 I will never take my position on this earth for granted.
    I am a social person, keen to make conversation with as many people as I can, and to hopefully make at least one person smile. I would say I have developed independence from a young age alongside confidence. These two attributes have definitely helped with my daily life.
    I study human geography at university and so have a passion for the planet and the sustainability of the world. We delve into deep topics such as Climate change, Veganism, Overpopulation, Feminism, Foreign Aid, Food Waste, Development and various other geographical studies. Through my study, I have wrote about all sorts of issues that the world is facing and have a high degree of understanding, this led me to transition from Vegetarian to Vegan. I feel greatly concerned about thee planet and feel there is so much we need to do, I try and live as sustainably and environmentally friendly as I can.
    I adore the diversity in the world, the different places, the beautiful sites and cities, the oceans and the people. Travel is my lifelong goal, but travel to experience and help in the space I visit. Not simply to be a tourist and take a photo, or to tick it off a list. Personally, I believe that travel is about embracing newness and change, taking something away to help you in future life but also as a means of opening eyes to differences and contrasts, I travelled solo across Europe when I was 18 and it was an incredible experience. I came back eager to volunteer in another country, so took off to Kenya with my scout group. I found myself in awe at other people and the way we all function so differently.
    Through workaway I would like to discover like-minded people, help communities across the world, experience other cultures and see how places operate. I would like to offer my help and support wherever I can whilst gaining vital experience and knowledge myself. I want to put myself out there. When I discovered workaway I was smiling for many, many hours. It was exactly what I wanted to be doing and such an amazing idea.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de equipo
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Escritura

    mostrar más
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I think languages have a beauty to them- I would love nothing more than to be able to communicate with people across the world.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I have high levels of experience with cooking, after working in a café and helping out within my home before living independently. I have many outdoor skills, including navigation and map skills, survival, fire lighting, foraging, knot tying, water filtering, construction, plant identification and shelter building. This is from Gold DofE and the Queen's scout award but also scouting and other events. I have first aid and caring skills, from working in hospitality and caring for my mother. I have also been trained as a young leader within scouts, completing courses that allow my to work with children and give them the best of my energy and time. I am an experienced hiker and have done mountaineering for many years, alongside perfecting my abilities physically with helping with DIY in my home. My favourite things? Talking to people and having a good laugh :) I also love to help people in any way I can.
    I did Spanish A-level so have a level of Spanish ability, I would like to learn more languages! I think it's an incredible skill.
    Recently, I have really got into creating new dishes in the kitchen and providing the goods for everyone around, cheers them up. I also make an effort to provide a smile everywhere I go- my mum smiled through 4 years of motor neurone disease- a truly inspiring human.

  • Edad

    21

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Vegan

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios