Help us renovate an old Stone and Earth farm in Rhone-Alpes, France



58 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    We are two architects : Nicolas, 31 and Simon, 27 yo and Armel, 32 yo masson working on this project with some friends coming sometimes to help. We are friends, open-minded, easy going and really interested in History, Architecture, Travels and Discoveries about differents culture of the world.
    There is also Désirée, mother of Nicolas and owner of the house that comes almost every day to give us some food, to do the laundry, help with tidying up the house and cleaning... (Just like a lovely mother for all of us :)
    This summer we are receiving some students in architecture as trainee (7 of them already came)
    We enjoy listening or playing music, discussing, playing cards, learning and practicing foreign languages..
    Some Professional workers gonna come to help, such as another masson, a Carpenter, and later : an Electrician, a Plumber...
    We would like to have a lot of help here, and would be glad to host numerous people to keep a kind of campus atmosphere :)

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Cocinar / compras
    Mantenimiento / bricolage

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here you could learn a lot about architecture, building (with old and natural materials), carpentry, massonery
    You will also discover french culture and way of life.
    Armel is a French Teacher as a foreign language, he can also help you with french language.
    As French Cooks, we would be pleased to cook and teach French Cuisine.
    We really want to receive a lot of people from any country to learn and exchange about the world.

  • Ayuda


    >>We would love to have a Plumber after July.
    >>An Electrician would be awesome anytime
    >>We found a Carpenter for August, thank you Steven for coming :)

    There is a lot to do here, we are almost building a house and even more because rebuilding leads to more and more challenges
    We started with big works. We removed the roof, we deconstruct some walls to rebuild them stronger. We built a concrete chaining to support the framing. We gonna bring down a part of another wall and rebuild it, build gable walls and then make the framing and the roof before to build the Windows and screeds.
    So, there is a lot of massonery, such as assembling parpaing, making reinforced concrete to strengthen the walls, making holes in walls for doors and strengthen with concrete making and using earth bricks, making ecological and natural coatings, building floors..
    There is also Wood Work coming as we will start making new carpentries.a
    And then when structural Work will be finished, we gonna start finishing Work, with Electricity, Plumbery, Heating and Walls, Floors...

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Japanese: Fluido
    Russian: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    There is a caravan on the garden with 2 big beds we finished to settle
    There is also a truck with a matrice
    Otherwise people can share a huge room Under the roof, we are finishing to clean that place and trying to make 4 différents rooms with simple or double matrices
    The is only one bathroom that we are finishing to rehabilitate
    All meals are included (just need some help to prepare)
    There is now a cat in here, sleeping on a chair : a lazy old lovely cat :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a lot of nice places around if you want to have a look at surroundings, such as Beaujolais vineyards 10 km far, Dombs marshes 20km far and vernacular architecture with some castles.
    Lyon is 40min far and Macon 20min far by car or the train.
    We have got boxing, climbing and body-building material if you're crazy about sports.
    There is a little artificial lake 15km far if you want to have a swim.
    On Sunday, we often go to a nice and clear river to get some cool time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Removing wood from the roof
Tools Room
Wood Delivery
House after removing the roof
The future house of Désirée, before works
Wood Workshop
The outside of the House in which one lives
View of the house from the outside

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 951953216661