Help us with home, gardening and vineyard in Yandoit, Australia

Country

Australia

12 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *Up Date. Next project replanting and maintenance of the vineyard.
    * installing a Solar pump on dam finally completed thanks to workawayers Mat and Felipe
    21 acre ( 8 hectare) lifestyle farm located in Yandoit, Central Victoria between Daylesford and Castlemaine not far from Ballarat and Bendigo and about 1 3/4 hours from Melbourne. My late wife and I came here 37 years ago (1983) to live our dream – build a house, raise our family, grow fruit and vegetables and establish a beautiful garden environment. We did that, having to learn much along the way, and now I would like to share this with those who have an interest in the same things.
    Me? I am Paul, a 68 year old retired secondary school teacher, turned educational consultant in the later years of my career. I am a handy cook and like a range of cuisines with a preference for Mediterranean food and am happy to learn more. I enjoy conversation over dinner, preferably with a glass or two of wine. I go to Melbourne about once a month for live theatre (covid willing) and there is an extensive library in the house. Travel, especially in Europe, has been a passion and I love finding out about the way people live, and the cultures and history of their countries. My skills and knowledge of living on our land have all been acquired by reading and doing (trial and error) as I turned my hand to building, gardening and caring for the land.
    The house is mud brick with timber ceiling and internal walls. It is completely off grid – solar charged battery bank and inverter giving 240V power, own water supply from tanks and dams. Wood heating and cooking is through slow combustion stoves which supplies hot water and radiator heat for bedrooms and bathroom. There is also a gas stove and dishwasher and air conditioner for the hot days. There is satellite internet (not very fast) and wifi. Mobile signal is not very strong but adequate.
    Outside there are stables and two horses – an Irish Sport and a Warmblood - which would appreciate gentle riding (they are getting old) and love being groomed. There is a full size dressage arena for riding. Two dogs who love attention and think their reason for being is to be patted and a lazy black cat round off the animal cast.
    There is a small vineyard and a small scale winery supplying a wide range of varieties of grapes for small batch winemaking. The emphasis is on small and non commercial!
    The large garden has a number of rooms which are perfect for morning or afternoon teas. It has a range of styles from formal rose and citrus gardens bordered with low hedges and to woodland areas under planted with bulbs and flowers. There are highlights in every season. The emphasis here is big! There is a pizza oven and grill for outdoor cooking. The vegetable and herb garden supply a range of seasonal vegetables and there are a wide range of fruit and berries. There is a small hot house for propagation and growing on.
    The property is part cleared with paddocks (fields) for the horses and also has a bush (forest) area which contains different micro environments and supports numerous kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas, the occasional wombat and koala. There are 35 different bird species (at last count) ranging from huge magnificent eagles to tiny striated pardalote (about the size of your thumb) and dozens of wildflowers (orchids mostly) especially in spring.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In building, developing and maintaining the property over 37 years I have acquired much experience, some skills and knowledge about living off grid. I would be more than willing to share what I have learned over the years. I am also deeply interested in educational theory and practice and to share understanding of culture, history and politics.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    No particular skill or knowledge is needed and there is no required work time (a couple of hours a day will do)-, but interest and willingness to participate is what is requested. There are differnt things to do in different seasons around the garden, house vineyard or in the bush. At most times of the year I find that there are always something to do around the place (often more than I can do as I am slowing down) so, if you like the sound of the description above, help would be appreciated

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in the house and there are two large bedrooms, queen beds, one with a cot for babies, so singles, couples or small families are welcome. All other facilities and spaces would be shared.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Pick up could be arranged from Ballarat or Castlemaine Railway stations and there is a car available for use under the right circumstances.
    The surrounding area has numerous old stone cottages and also large areas of state forests. You may come across the ruins of old gold mines dotted across the area. The surrounding towns of Castlemaine and Daylesford cater for a range of cultural and artistic interests and further afield Ballarat and Bendigo offer much of interest especially in their goldrush history.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Usually less than 3 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 817289168472