Help with childcare and homesteading chores in the Rocky Mountains, Canada

Country

Canadá

7 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a young family of four running a market garden, hobby farm and bed and breakfast. We (Mike and Jean Ann) have two boys who will be three and one year old this summer and we are looking for some help with childcare, household chores and homesteading help while we grow our farm. Our home is situated at the base of the Rocky Mountains, with spectacular views of the Caribou and Monashee mountains across the valley. We run a small vegetable box delivery program and sell vegetables at the farmers market. We are the third generation of the family farming here on 160 acres. There is also a small timber mill, cattle grazing, and hayfield run by different members of the family. The farm isn’t certified organic, but we adhere to organic gardening practices and are interested in permaculture. We also have a couple of dogs, cats, and about 10 ducks and chickens that call the farm home. The property gets its energy from an independent hydroelectric power plant that runs off of a creek. We are passionate about sustainable and ecologically responsible farming, and providing healthy, local, organically grown food for our family and community. We are just 4 km outside of the little village of Valemount (population 800). The area has ample outdoor recreation opportunities, with hiking, mountain biking, fishing, backcountry and XC skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling and more. Mount Robson, the highest peak in the Canadain Rockies, and the Berg Lake Trail are a short 20 minute drive away. We are looking for help with childcare, general household and farm chores, and home improvement projects for a few hours on weekdays. We will provide accommodation for a single traveler, couple, or pair of friends traveling together, in our spare bedroom located in the downstairs of our house. Meals are shared, and you may be asked to help with some meal preparation and general household chores. Workaway guests should ideally be fairly independent and self motivated, as we only host one at a time (although couples or friends traveling together are also welcome). We are happy to share experiences in homesteading and are able to help set up some recreational activities, loan backpacking gear, and do some touristy outings on weekends. We are both avid outdoor enthusiasts, and regularly mountain bike, trail run, ski and hike. However, we are currently a bit limited in our ability to get out due to farm tasks and young children. Some of our other hobbies are painting (Jean Ann), cider making (Jean Ann), guitar (Mike), tinkering on engines (Mike), green energy projects, woodworking, and foraging for wild food. We have a lot of extended family living in the area, so in a non-pandemic year we often attend and host potlucks, music nights, and the occasional large family reunion.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers staying with us will enjoy quiet life on a beautiful farm surrounded by mountains. You will have opportunity to learn about gardening, homesteading, and foraging for wild food. You will also have ample outdoor adventures available at our doorstep. The Valemount area has many trails, campgrounds and parks. We are happy to share skills and experience in homesteading, gardening and self sufficiency. We try to grow as much of our own food as possible, and also do a lot of canning, freezing, baking, and cider making. We love to share and teach those skills. If you are musical or artsy you can have access to a guitar, piano, and painting supplies.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are primarily looking for help with childcare and household chores. However, there are also always many jobs that need to be done, such as weeding the family’s kitchen garden, mowing, painting, basic carpentry, and repairs, so we can also find jobs for individuals and couples with more diverse skills and interests. Childcare is primarily on the farm, assisting with outdoor play while we work in the gardens. This could be building a fort in the forest, going for walks and bike rides, tending and planting the children’s garden. Since the younger child is still a baby, turning one in August, I will almost always be nearby for breastfeeding if needed. Having the children playing alongside us as we work is fine and expected, as we just welcome some help keep them happy and entertained while our attention is focused on work. Since this job involves helping with children, you will be asked to provide a criminal record check and experience with children is an asset. It is important that you are an independent self starter. We will provide good instructions and guidance for any job we ask you to do, but we are looking for someone who can take initiative and fill needs without always being asked. We would expect a maximum of four hours of help, five days a week (but most likely less), in exchange for accommodation and meals. There is some flexibility in hours, although we would like to have a relatively consistent routine where it involves the kids. We can also provide a bike for commuting to and from town, and use of camping gear for weekend adventures. We like to do outdoor adventures and activities when there is time, and will certainly include you.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in our spare room in the downstairs of our family home. Travelers will have the room to themselves (it would also work for a couple or pair of friends). There is a double bed, five single bunks and a large desk in the room. This space doubles as our arts and crafts room when we don’t have guests, so if you are the artsy type we can provide you with some supplies too. We only host one person, or couple at any given time. The bathroom and kitchen are one floor up and shared with our family of four.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Nearby Attractions
    - Mount Robson Provincial Park and the Berg Lake Trail (20 minutes)
    - Valemount Bike Park (5 minutes)
    - Jasper National Park (1 hour)
    - Wells Grey Park (1 hour)
    - Hermit Thrush Cabin and McKirdy YORA cabins (about 10km hike from our doorstep)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Many beautiful camping spaces available with mountain views and a stream running nearby. Hook ups are an extension chord and garden hose, and you are welcome to shower in our home. Facilities are a pit toilet/outhouse and covered outdoor kitchen with wood stove.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 758216531677