Come and gain experience of how to live self-sufficiently in the north-east of Scotland, Fraserburgh. UK


Gran Bretaña

135 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar


 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    Before reading, we would like to let you know we are following government advice in Scotland re the Covid 19 outbreak , therefore cannot host anyone we have decided in 2020, plus we are currently doing renovation work at the croft so your stay would be more comfortable in 2021.please send us any future messages in regards to 2021 to avoid disappointment ! Stay safe and all that!

    We are working to improve our wooded croft land situated in the Buchan area of Aberdeenshire near the north-east coast of Scotland. Our 16 acre patch is mostly native woodland. we keep a small brood of chickens.We also have 3 lovely cats and an old German Shepard who still thinks she's a pup!
    We have two paddocks that we have previously let out for grazing.In the future the paddocks might be used for our own wee flock of sheep or alpacas with the intention of using and selling the wool. We grow a lot of our own veg with the use of our polytunnel and outside veg plot.These past few years I have also became interested in keeping seed and preserving to great success and some failures (go permaculture!)

    When we are not doing work on the croft , we are usually rehearsing in the converted steading , music being another big focus in our lives.

    Although we both work independently of the croft, the idea one day is that Balnamoon Croft is a self-sustaining business that we can put all our energy into and share with others who also have a passion for self-sufficiency , preserving nature and creative exploration.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    They will gain experience of how to manage a woodland croft and how to live self-sufficiently in the north-east of Scotland.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda


    The idea is to work and live more self-sufficiently whilst inviting activities which respect the natural environment that we live in. Some ideas we would like to develop with the help of volunteers are : managing the woodland for outdoor activity sessions , a space for wild camping, creating an easy-access wildlife garden ,pathways, conservation,extending and improving vegetable plot,repairing fencing, the building of A-Frame off-grid huts etc Generally the help will vary depending on what time of year you are coming and what we need help with the most , but we will let you know whats needed and hopefully you will end up doing something that really utilizes your skills and that you enjoy!.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a private, detached dwelling known as 'the Theshing Barn' that sits on the court yard next to our home. It has 1 double bedroom/en-suite bathroom and a kitchen/livingarea. For additional volunteers we also have a sofa bed in the living area.Camping also available in the summer. Inside the barn there is a wood burning stove that is used to heat water and radiators.There is also gas hobs to cook on in the kitchen. The lighting system is partially run off-grid via wind power. Solar power in the summer! We are intending on turning the barn into an online rental however the accommodation for volunteers will always be free . Parking available in courtyard . We will provide a bit of a welcome pack with fresh home baked bread,fresh veggies (seasonal of course!) free-range eggs and also some sundries for the kitchen like tea, coffee etc. Will also leave general toiletries for you in the bathroom as well as clean bedding and towels.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live on the side of an old peatmoss which is now a sssi and haven for wildlife , particularly bird life . One of the thing we boast most about our place is the stunning panoramic view, but you will have to see it for yourself! A public path runs from the bottom of our track out on the moss and round to the local village New Pitsligo which is about 30 minute walk away. In New Pitsligo there is a small village shop which is pretty good considering the size of the village .There is also 3 takeaways and two restaurants/pubs!New Pitsligo does have a local bus service however it is infrequent! We have a pretty extensive knowledge of local sights having lived here all our lives particularly the local fishing villages and cliff side walks etc (we are about a 10 minute drive from the coast)
    We may live in the middle-of-nowhere however our good neighbors run a vegan cafe and have build some pretty quirky accommodation that they rent out (will have to be seen to be believed) I should probably mention here as well that we practice a healthy vegetarian lifestyle and would prefer if meat was not cooked in the threshing barn for the sake of other future guests.However colds meats and takeaways are permissible if you have to eat meat.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    negotiable (maximum 40 hours/week)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 648599819283