Busy home educating family seeking a volunteer in the beautiful Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, UK


Gran Bretaña

182 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    We are a home educating family of five, myself, my husband and our three boys, aged twelve, nine and eight. We love adventure and can frequently be found hiking in the woods and hills, or camping out on the side of a mountain!

    We live in the beautiful Forest of Dean, on the edge of the Wye Valley (an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty). Our house is right on the edge of the woods, and there is lovely walking, cycling and mountain biking right from our doorstep. We even have a mountain bike to lend you if you'd like to try our local trails.

    Our three children do not go to school, and instead learn at home and out and about in the local area. We are part of an active local home education community, and frequently have other families join us on learning days both at home and out and about. Our household is normally busy and is always noisy! Monday to Friday we usually have a spare seat in the car, and volunteers are welcome to join us on our regular learning trips to local castles, country walks and other educational trips when we take them. Of course if you'd rather do your own thing, and explore our local area in peace, then that is fine too!

    Our house is only a minute or two walk from the nearest bus stops, with services to Gloucester city and our local town of Coleford. The nearest train station is 7 miles away in Lydney.

    The whole family are looking forward to meeting some new faces, and having the chance to share our life fully with our visitors.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for somebody who is willing to help out in our busy household - be that keeping the children company as they learn and explore, gardening work, sharing the cooking (maybe you could cook and share a traditional recipe from your home country?), housework and cleaning, and maybe even some basic household repairs.

    You will need to like children, be completely trustworthy and be willing to become 'part of our family' while you are with us.

    We are looking for volunteers to join our family for a week or two at a time, to ease the pressures of trying to keep up with educating three children and running a busy active household. Jobs could include spending time with the kids as they learn (maybe sitting beside them as they learn on the computer, reading to them, playing games, helping them with art projects etc etc). Or it could be helping me keep up with the endless housework and cleaning, and sharing a little of the cooking. To a great extent the work we find you to do will depend on your own strengths and weaknesses - if you like to garden, then we will make sure we find you some garden work. If you love to teach and spend time with children, then I'm happy to clean and tidy whilst you amuse and inspire the kids to learn.

    We are asking for up to 5 hours a day for five days a week, in return for staying in the house and sharing meals with us. Working hours may be fairly flexible - some days we may want to go out early and explore, and your help may be needed in making a picnic lunch, preparing outdoor clothing for the children and generally getting out the door on time.

    Duties in the house may include helping to fix a meal, general tidying and cleaning work, or spending some time working in the garden. We have a small vegetable garden, a good sized lawn that may need mowing and overgrown flower beds that certainly need some tender loving care! Of course the children always love company as they learn - my youngest like somebody to sit with him as he practices his reading. My middle child loves to make things - from Lego, with clay, leather, wood and may more things beside! My eldest loves to play games, both on and off the computer - he loves 'Magic the Gathering' and is keen to learn 'Dungeons and Dragons'. If you know how to play he would be especially excited!

    We'd also all love to hear stories and learn about you and your family, and how your home life differs from ours!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English. A tiny bit of french.

  • Alojamiento


    We live in a generous 4 bedroom house. You'll have sole use of a double bedroom, with some drawer storage space, and use of the family bathroom, which has both a shower and bath.

    We have wifi and a reasonably fast internet connection. We can offer you use of one of our four computers if you can find a time when they are not being used!

    There is plenty of parking if you need space for your car, and we have a large garage if you need to store your own bike. We are willing to pick up from the local train station of Lydney, or there are buses to within a couple of hundred metres of the house.

    In addition, during the warmer summer months (April to October) we like to take regular camping trips to anable us to visit places further from home. It is therefore pretty important that you are happy to either join us and live in a tent occasionally, or that you are happy to stay home without us (and look after the house, do some work in the garden, and give the house a good clean whilst we are away).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You'll have use of a spare mountain bike if you wish and the house is only a very short walk from the nearest bus stops, with buses to Gloucester city and Coleford, then onward to Lydney (where there is a train station).

    You would be welcome to join us if we are going out for the day, and Monday-Friday we normally have a spare seat in the car. However at weekends our car is usually full. We often go away for one night at the weekend and if this happens during your stay you will stay at our house, we will leave food for you and you can keep our little cat company - she loves cuddles!

    There are many miles of forest trails and footpaths right from the house, suitable for walking, cycling and mountain biking. The pedalabikeaway cycle centre is just a short cycle ride from our house and has miles of trails of all difficulties to explore .

    There are several local castles, along with other tourist attractions in the area.

    We have plenty of local maps to loan you if you wish to head out an explore.

    There may be a chance to join us on one of our weekend adventures - we frequently head into the woods walking and sometimes camping. Sometimes we take to the trails on our bikes. Other times we head down the river Wye in canoes. If this is the kind of thing you would enjoy we will do our very best to include it as part of your stay (depending on the weather and transport availability, as our car can only carry 5 people!)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A beautiful woodland lake in winter. This is just a short walk from where we live.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 568293139532