Stay at my home and help with DIY in Weil am Rhein, Baden-Wurttemberg, right by Basel, Switzerland

Country

Alemania

45 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, I am Joanna, born in London of Polish descent, I used to be a language teacher for adults (English & French) worked in many different EU countries, Italy-Portugal-Nederland, (and 2 years in Syria, before the War....)
    I arrived on the other side of Switzerland in 2011, then March 2018 i set up a small Bed&Breakfast right by Basel, Switzerland, but it is located in the village of Weil-am-Rhein in Southern Germany, considered 'Greater Basel' and I would need a bit of a Helping Hand with manly (physical or electrical or gardening) jobs at the House. There are always bits of furniture than need attending to, so does the garden. It is a large modern house on 2 floors with 2 entrances, parking and garage by the street.

    Living in Germany has its advantages (for the paperwork an EU passport can be handy)
    There is Parking but for now I don't have my own Car, at least for now.
    I can give you a quiet single Room, with view over the gardens, your own Bike to get around and share in all the food I prepare and eat. The Bathroom is right across the corridor and being a modern house, doors close tightly.
    Besides that the balcony is massive, sitting areas everywhere, with views over Basel.
    I'm not a Vegetarian as such but I'd say most of my food are Greens (raw or cooked) & Beans.
    If you want to learn or improve a language, besides German I am Sure we can find something to exchange :)

    The B&B under the Pine-Trees, -downstairs- it is a one-bedroom apartment of 58m2, sleeps 7-in-all, and it is very busy as Weil-am-Rhein is on the crossroads of Europe and Yes there are 5 tall Pine-Trees all around: that part of the House is all ready & done up!

    If your serious and you have 2-3-4 weeks time, send a message.

    *33after closing for 5 months due to Covid, we are so happy to announce that 15th May, we are opening again ***

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Former language Teacher, I speak 7 languages myself and could teach 5 of those (English, French which I taught) then Dutch, Italian and maybe even Portuguese too. Keeping them active and alive takes energy, every day!
    I can't really teach you German, though....I am still trying to master that one myself! The next one on my List is Japanese, but I'm holding off till German reaches a cumfy B2.....
    This is my 10th country and for now I am here running the B&B, with my network mostly inside CH.
    I started the B&B with the Idea of bringing Travlers closer to Home.
    Living inside this 3-country-area, you can hop into France, visit Germany or even walk into Switzerland.
    There are free German practice and Conversation Groups every day of the Week if you want.
    You can benefit from living just over the border of Basel and have enough time to visit, discover, go to school, learn a language, learn a trade or even launch into a more stable life from here.....i can assist with CVs etc & put you in contact with Jobhunters.
    The mountains of the Schwarzwald (D) are just up the road & high mountains in Switzerland start just over an hour away, with first snow already in November.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are (larger) pieces of furniture to be assembled or done up, small DIY repair work to be done, especially electrical things, the odd painting job, there are large windows upstairs, and the garden and balcony require somebody with delicate Green-Thumb attention too.
    You would need to know what to do with a drill, how to connect a lamp to the ceiling and know how to put furniture together and paint or varnish it.
    The Garage needs new painting and units for the organisation of eBikes next summer.
    Trying out new ideas for design, lay-out, colour and furniture, an extra pair of eyes is very practical as well as ideas for new trees or plants for the garden.

    The usual busy hours are 10-15-ish, evenings you're always off.
    You can get 2 consecutive Days Off, maybe not a full weekend, but we can see about Sunday & Monday or Friday & Saturday, for instance.
    If you would like to stay longer, 2-3 months and need to accumulate Days Off, we can talk about that too.
    During the warm summer my Family often comes over from the UK or other EU countries, so it gets bit busy....
    Pets welcome.
    Can easily adapt to special diets & curious to try out new tastes, smells, ingredients etc
    Grandma was a Polish Pastry Magician so have a bit of a penchant for sweets ;-)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Italiano: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante
    Polaco: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your own nice single room of 3.5x6.5m, with large window onto the gardens. It has basic furniture -single bed, desk, shelves, small sofa, & heating for the winter, wooden floor: it's very quiet and Zen.
    The bathroom is just across the corridor, kitchen also is free to use.
    The House (upstairs) is quite big and light, ±100m2, with corners, alcoves, a large balcony and all-in-all 4 sofas to comfortably sit where you would like, I am the only person living here.
    You can pick up a hobby or spend time studying or improve speaking a language or....
    The neighbour's cat wonders in from time-to-time, and the birds sing in the gardens, but that is it.
    To get around the white bicycle with 15 gears in the Garage is also yours.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Besides Weil-am-Rhein (D) locally -mostly just vineyards and 2 Museums- and many trains going up to Northern Germany,
    Lörrach (D) at 2kms is a bit bigger, has many language schools, shopping, but also an international bus-station.
    Basel (CH) at 5kms is the 3rd city of Switzerland, offers maaaany Museums, Cultural Exchanges and Activities, mostly in (Swiss-)German, but locals understand English and/or French too: nobody in Swiss is a monolingual!
    It is easy to access Events through shared Social Media, it is overall an easy-going safe city, used to foreigners & bikers.

    France is 3.5kms away just over the river Rhein, easy to go practise your French!
    Basel Airport is 10kms away inside France, Easyjet f.i. flies to many destinations.
    The Tram/Bus/commuter Train connect the 3 countries well, and by Bike through the forest you can easily get around, too, just take your passport along and smile at anybody in a uniform.

    Then deeper inside Switzerland there are endless mountain/sport/ski possibilities just about anywhere:
    Zürich and Bern are ±1hour away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is a quiet Office Space & high speed unlimited internet throughout the House

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    The B&B and the House has in total 5 parking spots which are rarely all used....

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dog, cats and any other conventional pet is most welcome

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 519994189474