Help at a farm house in the hills near Llanidloes, Wales, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

208 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    209

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of 4 living up in the hills, just outside Llanidloes, mid-Wales. We live in a farm house, with beautiful views around the valley. There is a very large garden with vegetable plot and polytunnels. We have been in the house for 5 years and so are still working to bring the veg garden (which was very overgrown) into a good organic growing system and make a few simple improvements inside the house. It's still very much a work in progress!

    Workaway help is mainly needed in the garden and veg patch, but there are also odd jobs around the house for if the weather is too awful and at another offsite allotment.

    This area is beautiful for walking and cycling. The town has a lot of independent shops (volunteer ran organic fruit and veg shop, bookshop, veggie cafe etc etc), there are a lot of alternative things to do, lots of musicians and opportunities to get involved in the community. Further afield, within an hours drive there are some of the country's most beautiful beaches, lots of walks, lakes and reservoirs, mountains.

    Andy runs a small artisan bakery in the town and Leanne is an artist and graphic designer. We moved to this area to live more simply whilst trying to learn new skills, however somehow this has lead to us being very busy!! We are often not around, so you will need to be quite self motivated and able to work independently.

    The accommodation is most likely a caravan (or tent) in the garden which is cosy for 2 people. We are also up for people who have their own vehicle accommodation and could stay in the yard where there is an outdoor toilet for the night.

    We have 2 children aged 10 and 6 who we are home-educating, so we welcome travelling families who would like to join in our home ed activities.

    The house is a 150 year old farm house, we moved in late 2016 and the house could do with a bit of TLC (we are working on it, but certainly don't expect to be coming to a perfectly presented neat and tidy house, ha ha). Despite the element of mess, it is a great space with a large communal kitchen/dining area which you are welcome to hang out in.

    Andy works very early (from around 4am) so we can be quite quiet in the evenings, on the days he bakes at least. We have a separate lounge which we usually tuck ourselves away in on an evening to get a bit of headspace before bed.

    There are plenty of jobs to do but the caravan is unheated so we are more likely to be able to host in the "warmer" months of the year. I suppose March/April onwards. But again if you have your own living vehicle that is less of an issue.

    In 2022, we are looking for people who may be able to stay for a longer period of time, who are a bit more self sufficient and we could possibly negotiate on the hours helped per day/meals etc. Possibly in their own vehicle and to be more self sufficient

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We see workaway as a cultural exchange, not just free workers! So we are happy to help you out with travel plans, local information etc etc. We travel into or out of town most days, so may be able to give you lifts to places to explore on your days off.

    Organic gardening and sustainable living. We are learning, but still have knowledge to share. We are well connected with people in the town who are skilled in these areas, so would be able to hook you up with people if you have specific interests.

    If you have an interest in baking, some work experience with Andy may be possible, or certainly lots of talk about bread!

    Home Ed families, or families thinking about Home Ed are very welcome to come join in our activities. It may be interesting to see how we manage to juggle home edding 2 kids, maintain a massive garden and both still work (part time - we are not magicians!).

    Would suit anyone trying to work out how to to escape the rat race and create themselves a viable alternative Mid Wales lifestyle.

    If you would like to apply to come stay with us, please tell us what interests you about our profile, no general copy and paste requests - we like to host people who have an interest in our situation.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help is varied - in nice weather we try to do outdoor tasks eg
    - preparing beds for planting
    - pruning
    - wood chopping
    - gathering kindling
    - weeding
    - mowing/strimming
    - harvesting

    Indoor tasks include:
    - painting/decorating
    - cleaning/hoovering etc
    - help with meals/washing up
    - preserving produce
    - fun projects with children

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Welsh: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We speak French and some Welsh, kids are interested in Spanish and Japanese.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A double bed caravan, or camping in the garden if preferred - tent can be provided. Or bring your own vehicle.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Llanidloes is a beautiful small town with lots of independent shops, a veggie cafe.
    There are local buses to Shrewsbury, Rhayader and Aberystwyth.
    The nearest train in Caersws, we could pick you up from here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large yard where vans can park

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 464782315386