Support an interesting project in Pickering, Yorkshire, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

24 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 14 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have just moved into a semi-derelict Victorian Hunting Lodge, in Yorkshire . We are just turning fifty and our adult children are leaving the nest (well ok, one still keeps coming back) so we've started a new challenge! We've given up our regular jobs and moved from the city, to pursue our dream of running a countryside retreat.

    Workawayers will not be expected to help on the main house, but rather help us with small DIY projects in our home and garden, or help with general cooking and cleaning etc, to provide us with more time to carry out the major renovations in the main house.

    Are you friendly, hardworking and honest?
    Would you like to learn new DIY skills, or help around the house and garden?
    Are you happy to look after dogs and guinea pigs, but not so keen on looking after children?

    This is a perfect opportunity for a couple, but is also suitable for single workawayers. Basic DIY, gardening or cooking skills are preferred, but enthusiasm and an eagerness to learn are welcomed.

    Our house is set in the forest, in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park This is a tourist area known for its beautiful countryside and beaches, and historic towns and villages. Walking and cycling paths through the forest onto the moors, go past our drive.

    Within walking distance is a traditional village pub, and within a short drive are several quaint villages and market towns. Our closest city is York, with its Cathedral and many museums including the Yorvik Viking Centre and National Train Museum. The coastal towns of Whitby and Scarborough are about 45 minutes drive.

    We are centrally located in the UK; London and Edinburgh can be visited equally as easily for a weekend trip ( York to London 2 hours by train, York to Edinburgh 2.5 hours by train)

    We think this is a wonderful opportunity share our journey with others who would like to help this exciting project and perhaps gain some new skills along the way. We offer a warm welcome, and a commitment to helping you get the most out of your stay with us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love hosting people, and our home is often visited by friends and family, providing many opportunities for engaging conversations and improving your English (if this is one of your goals).

    Although we are new to Workaway, we previously had a French "au Pair" to look after our children, which was a great experience on both sides. She still comes to visit her "English Family" Many years ago, I too was an "au pair" in Paris, and this experience affords me a greater insight into the experience, and a better understanding of what makes a good host.

    My husband and I love visiting other countries, and look forward to learning all about your country and culture, especially if you can share some of your favourite food with us! Equally we look forward to sharing some Yorkshire food and entertainment with you.

    Want to know more about bushcraft skills, or improve your DIY skills, come and stay with us.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We're looking for 25 hours help per week (usually 5 hours, 5 days, per person) but we can be flexible as to when this help is provided, allowing for long weekends for sightseeing etc if required.

    We would love some help with general cleaning, gardening and home cooking. We are still unpacking boxes, so there is lots of cleaning sorting and organising. We have 7 acres of land that is overgrown and needs taming, and we'd like to start a small vegetable garden.

    We would also welcome help with whatever projects we are on with at the time. Currently these include renovating a 1971 Transit van, re-roofing and painting a shed, cleaning and repairing a marquee for our son's wedding, installing a bathroom, decorating rooms, and painting indoor and outdoor furniture. Whether you want use your existing skills or learn new skills, we prefer to offer a variety of tasks for you to choose from.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Although much of the house is uninhabitable, the part were we live is modernised with central heating, wifi etc.

    Currently the accommodation is a private room with kingsize bed. The bathroom will need to be shared with our daughter when she is home from university. Soon, we hope to have a double room with an ensuite available.
    There is a shared kitchen, but several lounges and dining areas.

    It is anticipated that the cooking of dinner will be shared equally between the hosts and the workawayers. Breakfast and lunch will be available to help yourself.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As we are off of the beaten track you may prefer to bring your own/hire vehicle, (we have plenty of parking space) but if this is not possible we are able to drive you to the local shops or train station.

    We have cycles that may be borrowed.

    If you are wanting to stay for a few months in the tourist season (June-Sept), and you have the required permits/visa, part-time hospitality related jobs are readily available in this area.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Must be well behaved Must integrate well with our pets Dogs not allowed upstairs

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 425234776255