Enjoy the Galician culture and gastronomy while helping us rebuilding and taking care of our property, Spain

Country

España

actualizado  

36 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 16 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are currently a small family with a big family house! Evaristo (66) a former farmer who decided to keep on living in the countryside after his retirement and Marta (34) who just got back from her second home - Austria- are sharing the house with Lupo (3), the dog, Costi the cat and few chickens.

    Our aim is to clear up, rebuild and make some parts of the farm and the house ready for future projects. We love to live in the nature, therefore we try to keep our orchard, the forest and the surroundings of the property as fruitful and clean as possible.

    Evaristo worked as a milk farmer and as a mail man for more than 40 years, now he enjoys his well deserved retirement and tries to keep the old farm in good shape. This is not that easy, since the property is big, it needs constant maintenance and he has a lot of hobbies to pay attention to: old style motorbikes, playing galician traditional music and coordinating some cultural events during the year keeps him quite busy.

    I´m now back in Galicia after living for the last 10 years in Tirol and would like to use the old farm as the perfect location for future permaculture and social projects (since I´ve worked with kids, enjoy nature and love gardening). I spendt my free time also enjoying and playing music, visiting the traditional festivals of the region and doing sports with friends.
    I´m currently doing my masters online due to the Covid situation and plan to visit some permaculture courses and gatherings (if possible).

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer the opportunity for workawayers to live in the heart of Galicia, get to know better the traditions and gastronomy and also learn a bit about life in the countryside, gardening and taking care of animals in tight contact to nature.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for workawayers who are ready to stay at least 2 weeks and max 1 month. We need help with the orchard (permaculture knowledge is here a plus), we are planning to clear up and rebuild several areas of the farm and also some areas of the forest in the surroundings. Some of the tasks we are planning to carry out soon:
    - clearing and rebuilding two of the farm storehouses (getting rid of old materials, sort out and clean the sheds/storehouses).
    -build a new chicken coop
    - reorganize the orchard, introduce new permaculture techniques,
    -take care of the fruit trees and do some "landscaping" around the property
    -clear up some forest areas, take care of the pine trees in the property

    Therefore people with good physical condition, ready to work with their hands, carry, pull and grab all kind of building materials will have priority. Overall we are happy to welcome anyone who loves to be in the nature, is active and proactive and is interested in getting to know the area in their free time.

  • Languages

    Idiomas hablados
    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Galician: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The workawayers will share our family house. The house is over 100 years old, rebuilt 30 years ago following the traditional building way of the area. You will have your own room.
    Mine and Evaristos bedrooms are located within the same corridor, so if you´re in need of a lot of privacy our place may not be the right one where to stay. The bathroom and the common areas will be also shared.
    As you will be living as a part of the family you don´t need to bring anything with you but your personal belongings. Towels and personal hygiene products will be provided.

    We include three meals a day for our Workawayers. We would like to offer our workawayers a real cultural and life exchange during their stay with us, so we may ask you to cook with us in order to get to know more about galician gastronomy, which is one of the best in our country (we galicians are really proud about that). Allergies or special diet restrictions or choices will be respected. Evaristo loves to cook meat but I decided recently to stop eating some animal products, so there will be plenty of options on the table ;)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    One of the "special treats" of our exchange is called the "excursion lunch box".
    If you decide to work hard during 3/4 days in a row with us and then use the rest of the week to do trips to the beach, to hike or to get to know the surroundings, we offer you to pack your lunch box full with our home made/grown products: veggies, bread, cheese, sausages, wine...this way you can fully enjoy your free days, we round up our meal offer and you get just fresh, healthy and tasty food all the way through our amazing landscapes!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of space in the property around the house to park the van or mobile home, with the possibility to hook it to our electricity and water supply

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hs a day, 4 days a week. Minimum 3 days a week

The house with the orchard
Evaristo getting ready to press some grapes into wine, the traditional way
Evaristo, about to play some galician music
Trash picking trails around the village
Surroundings of the village
Lupo
The house in winter

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 314894814951