Volunteer with this lovely family and help them create a Vegetable Garden in Connacht, Ireland



33 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    We are a retired couple living in the West of Ireland with two grown up children, one of which is married and living away, and the other is waiting to return to University in September. We enjoy the quiet country life and have lived here for 19 years.

    I (Rita) enjoy baking, crafting, gardening, cooking homemade meals and rock n' roll. Patrick my husband is a very skilled handyman, with a great sense of humour, and always busy with one project or another.
    Annalice (daughter waiting to return to Uni) will be spotted occasionally emerging from her study to eat, head out or off to work. Bear the family dog may be massive, but is a real push over when it comes to cuddles and FOOD, lots and lots of food!

    We have hopes of becoming self-sufficient one-day, by being able to grow our own food, and maybe producing our own electricity (pipe-dream). We have an acre and a half, of now wildly overgrown land which we hope to transform into some semblance of a lawn, erect a greenhouse and Vegetable garden. Your input and creativity would be greatly appreciated.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Skills to offer you:
    Electrical skills, Plumbing skills, Gardening skills such as when to take cuttings, potting on flowers, shrubs, composting, ect. Improve your English and learn a few Irish phrases. Learn how to cook or bake. Learn how to fish or go fishing.
    We are open to learning new skills, languages and all about your culture.

  • Ayuda


    Retired couple in the West of Ireland need help to create a Vegetable Garden, help tame our overgrown land (photo to follow), a few odd jobs around the house like painting, weeding, and some help in building a wall (made out of stone and wine bottles) and greenhouse. Your input and creativity would be greatly appreciated. We would require you to volunteer between 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexibility around days of week).
    Male Handyman (for the moment), 24 years of age and above welcome, non-smokers preferred. Sorry, no children or pets allowed, as have a BIG dog in residence, that doesn't like to share attention!!! He's named Bear for a reason. Therefore must be an animal-lover.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Own warm and private bedroom with a single bed, sheets and towels provide, wardrobe, bedside table, lamp. Laundry can be done for you or can do yourself. Home cooked meals, 3 meals a day, eat with family. Access to unlimited internet, family TV, DVD collection, bikes, books. Can cater for Vegetarians, diabetics, coeliac, so long as made aware before arrival.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Local shop is 3km, but bikes are available for your use, both for local shopping and your days off. Our local town offers:
    Post Office, Bank of Ireland, Library, Pubs for great food, Super Valu, Gym, Pharmacies, Cathedral, Baptist Church, Organic Food Store

    Knock Airport is 20min drive from our house, can be picked up.
    Dublin Airport is the next easiest access airport to our home, but means you have to catch a train or bus from Dublin to the nearest drop off point to us, so we could collect you.
    Method 1: Airport bus to Connolly Station, Train to Boyle Station, pick up from Boyle, County Roscommon
    Method 2: Airport bus to Heuston Station, Train to Castlerea Station, County Roscommon, pick up from Castlerea.
    Method 3: Airport bus to Busaras, Bus Eireann bus to Ballaghaderreen (local town), pick up in town.
    We can provide timetables for all of these methods of travel.

    Places of local interest:
    Local Gym (Health Quarters),Arigna Mines, Lough Key Adventure Forest Park, Carrick-on-Shannon, Westport House, Countrylife Museum, Boyle Abbey, Brochures are available on arrival. Lakes and rivers that you can go fishing (we have equipment that you can borrow and use at your leisure).

    We go shopping weekly to Roscommon Town, Carrick-on-Shannon, and your welcome to join us. Also welcome to join on family outings to places such as Sligo, Galway, Athlone.
    Annalice attends the gym 5 days a week if you wish to go along to class or workout on your own (weight facility available).

    Feel free to ask as many question as you would like. We hope to hear from you soon, and be welcomed into our family.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 282896998195